Origin: San Francisco, California, USA  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Page online: July 3, 2011
Last update/review: July 4, 2018


More retro thrash here, from one of the birthplaces of the original movement. Hatchet won over Metal Blade after recording a couple of demos in 2006 and 2007 and debuting in 2008 with Awaiting Evil, while it took five years for a followup album (Dawn Of The End) on a new label (The End). Awaiting Evil has all of the trademarks of classic retro thrash, with Exodus and early Slayer influences all over the place like it's 1986 all over again. On the other hand, Dawn is quite a bit more mature, with an improved production, better musicianship, and a tad more modern approach, though there's still plenty of old-style thrash riff goodness on display. The band has done well to stretch beyond the retro tag and this may bode well for the future.

Current Members

Julz Ramos


Clayton Cagle


Devin Reiche


Ben Smith


Former Members/Guests

Marcus Kirchen


Sterling Bailey


Clark Webb


Travis Russey


Joey Karpowicz


Alex Perez


Eli Lucas



Awaiting Evil  
2008 Metal Blade
  1. Darkening Skies
  2. Frailty of the Flesh
  3. Sealed Fate
  4. Frozen Hell
  5. Attack Imminent
  6. The Morlocks Tomb
  7. Storm the Gates
  8. The Dead Will March
  9. Awating Evil
  • Marcus Kirchen
  • Julz Ramos
  • Sterling Bailey
  • Travis Russey
  • Alex Perez

Dawn Of The End  
2013 The End
  1. After the Dark
  2. Silenced by Death
  3. Screams of the Night
  4. Fall from Grace
  5. Revelations of Good and Evil
  6. Signals of Infection
  7. Dawn of the End
  8. Sinister Thoughts
  9. Welcome to the Plague
  10. Vanishing Point
  • Julz Ramos
  • Clark Webb
  • Travis Russey
  • Eli Lucas

Fear Beyond Lunacy  
2015 The End
  1. Where Time Cannot Exist
  2. Living in Extinction
  3. Lethal Injustice
  4. In Fear We Trust
  5. Killing Indulgence
  6. Dead and Gone
  7. Tearing into Hell
  8. Prophet of Delusion
  9. The World Beyond
  10. Frozen Hell
  11. Awaiting Evil
  • Julz Ramos
  • Clark Webb
  • Joey Karpowicz
  • Ben Smith

Dying To Exist  
2018 Combat
  1. Unraveling Existence
  2. Silent Genocide
  3. Desire for Oppression
  4. Illusions of Hope
  5. Warsaw
  6. Where Futures Regress
  7. Back into Dust
  8. Final Sanctuary
  9. Descent into Madness
  10. Oblivious to Disorder
  11. Hail to the Lies
  12. World in a World (Vio-lence cover)
  • Julz Ramos
  • Clayton Cagle
  • Devin Reiche
  • Ben Smith

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions