Origin: Stockholm, Sweden  
Genres: 80's Metal
Official Site Facebook
Last update/review: October 7, 2023

Heavy Load

Heavy Load was one of the early successful Scandinavian metal bands, with a style that might remind one of a primitive Manowar. Their lyrics and image, strongly rooted in Viking/Norse mythology and traditions, might appear a bit dated and over-the-top nowadays, but their hard-hitting brand of anthemic power metal really hit the mark at the time. Their 80's run was relatively short-lived, with the Wahlquist brothers later becoming producers and owners of Thunderload Records. A new record was rumored about for years, and then talk died down after awhile, but 40 years after their last release, that new album, Riders Of The Ancient Storm, finally will see the light of day in October 2023.

Recent album: Riders Of The Ancient Storm, released on October 6, 2023.

Current Members

Ragne Wahlquist


Niclas Sunnerberg


Torbjorn Ragnesjo


Styrbjorn Wahlquist


Former Members/Guests

Eddie Malm


Dan Molen



Full Speed At High Level  
1978 independent
  1. Full Speed At High Level
  2. Midnight Crawler
  3. Moonlight Spell
  4. Storm
  5. In Two Minds
  6. Caroline
  7. Son Of The Northern Light
  • Ragne Wahlquist
  • Dan Molen
  • Styrbjorn Wahlquist

Metal Conquest  EP
1981 independent
  1. Dark Nights
  2. Heavy Metal Heaven
  3. Hey
  4. Heathens From The North
  • Ragne Wahlquist
  • Eddie Malm
  • Torbjorn Ragnesjo
  • Styrbjorn Wahlquist

Death Or Glory  
1982 independent
  1. Heavy Metal Angels (in metal and leather)
  2. Might For Right
  3. Something New
  4. Bleeding Streets
  5. The Guitar Is My Sword
  6. Trespasser
  7. Still There Is Time
  8. Traveller
  9. Little Lies
  10. Daybreak Ecstasy
  • Ragne Wahlquist
  • Eddie Malm
  • Torbjorn Ragnesjo
  • Styrbjorn Wahlquist

Stronger Than Evil  
1983 independent
  1. Run With The Devil
  2. The King
  3. Singing Swords
  4. Dreaming
  5. Stronger Than Evil
  6. Free
  7. Saturday Night
  8. Roar Of The North
  • Ragne Wahlquist
  • Eddie Malm
  • Torbjorn Ragnesjo
  • Styrbjorn Wahlquist

Riders Of The Ancient Storm  
2023 No Remorse
  1. Ride the Night
  2. We Rock the World
  3. Walhalla Warriors
  4. Angel Dark
  5. Slave No More
  6. Raven Is Calling
  7. Sail Away
  8. Butterfly Whispering
  • Ragne Wahlquist
  • Niclas Sunnerberg
  • Torbjorn Ragnesjo
  • Styrbjorn Wahlquist

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions