Origin: USA  
Genres: Doom Metal
Last update/review: January 18, 2008


This bizarre project brings together noted doom guitarist Stephen O'Malley (Burning Witch, Sunn O)))) and the duo of Alan Dubin and Jimmy Plotkin, once the core of another oddity, Old. Khanate is a tortured band at work, featuring long, droning tracks of stark, unbearably slow, feedback-laden doom, with Dubin's trademark shrieks and howls adding to the misery. There's really very little as far as standard song structure here, as most of the "songs" are rather aimless feedback exercises. There is a market for this kind of noise, but it is a small market indeed, as even many standard doom fans will likely find this just too much to handle. But to those able to handle something truly bleak and intense, Khanate can be quite rewarding indeed. They broke up in September 2006, with Plotkin and drummer Tim Wyskida forming a somewhat similar group, Khlyst.

Last Lineup

Alan Dubin

vocals (ex-Old)

Stephen O'Malley

guitars (ex-Burning Witch, Sunn O))), Teeth Of Lions Rule The Divine)

James Plotkin

bass (ex-Earth, Khlyst, ex-Old)

Tim Wyskida

drums (Blind Idiot God, Insect Ark, Khlyst)


2002 Southern Lord
  1. Pieces Of Quiet
  2. Skin Coat
  3. Torching Koroviev
  4. Under Rotting Sky
  5. No Joy
  • Alan Dubin
  • Stephen O'Malley
  • James Plotkin
  • Tim Wyskida

Things Viral  
2003 Southern Lord
  1. Commuted
  2. Fields
  3. Dead
  4. Too Close Enough To Touch
  • Alan Dubin
  • Stephen O'Malley
  • James Plotkin
  • Tim Wyskida

Clean Hands Go Foul  
2009 Hydra Head
  1. Wings From Spine
  2. Clean My Heart
  3. In That Corner
  4. Every God Damn Thing
  • Alan Dubin
  • Stephen O'Malley
  • James Plotkin
  • Tim Wyskida

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions