Origin: Portugal  
Genres: Death Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: May 14, 2004


The Portuguese band Malevolence released a debut album (Dominium) in 1996, before leader Carlos Cariano scrapped the band and recruited an all-new lineup for the 1999 follow-up Martyrialized reviewed here. The style here is somewhat in the melodic death metal field, but nothing like the Swedish bands normally associated with that term. There's a touch of doom, a bit of goth (particularly on favorite track "Hunters Of The Red Moon", which brings to mind compatriots Moonspell), a nice blend of styles and paces that make this an interesting and recommended album. As of this writing (August 2004), the band had completed some songs and was in search of a new record deal.

Current Members

Carlos Cariano


Fred Noel


Aires Pereira

bass (Moonspell)

Paulo Pereira


Former Members/Guests

Luis Lacerda


Frederico Saraiva


Rui Capitao


Nelson Agostinho


Gustavo Costa


Dirk Verbeuren (guest)

drums (guest for Aborted, ex-Devin Townsend Project, ex-Lyzanxia, Megadeth, guest for Naglfar, guest for No Return, ex-One-Way Mirror, ex-Phazm, Powermad, The Project Hate, ex-Scarve, ex-Soilwork, ex-Yyrkoon)


  1. Desespero
  2. Dominion Of Hate
  3. The Burning Picture
  4. Under Inhuman Touch
  5. Enchanted Mask
  6. Swallowed In Black
  7. My Eyes (Throne Of Tears)
  8. Sweet Bloody Vision
  9. Erotica
  10. Ceremonial Gallery
  • Carlos Cariano
  • Luis Lacerda
  • Rui Capitao
  • Nelson Agostinho

1999 Maquiavel
  1. The brotherhood of Christ
  2. Diabolical Eve (Chronicles of mother lusitania)
  3. Hunters of the red moon
  4. Les salles obscures de rose noire XVIII
  5. Thy extremist operetta
  6. Insubordination
  7. A shinning onslaught of tyranny
  8. Oceans of fire
  9. Martyrialized
  • Carlos Cariano
  • Frederico Saraiva
  • Aires Pereira
  • Paulo Pereira
  • Gustavo Costa

  1. Slithering
  2. Cult of the Everlasting
  3. Devoured Unlimited
  4. Antithetical
  5. Equilibrium in Extremis
  6. Exocortex Momentum
  7. Mechanisms of Destructive Behaviour
  • Carlos Cariano
  • Fred Noel
  • Aires Pereira
  • Paulo Pereira
  • Dirk Verbeuren

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions