Origin: England  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: August 30, 2016
Last update/review: August 31, 2016


Menace is a side project for Napalm Death guitarist Mitch Harris, and the band's first album was released without a great deal of fanfare in 2014. There is serious metal pedigree in the guys involved here, but a word of warning: don't let names like Harris, Embury, and Roddy steer you in the wrong direction. Death/grind will not be found here. What Impact Velocity is, however, is a quite interesting dense semi-progressive metal album, heavier than the prog tag usually warrants, with faint industrial and futuristic flairs as well as some gracefulness with the inclusion of a violinist. Harris' vocals are a revelation (again, don't think Napalm Death), clear and powerful yet understated. It's all quite a bit to take in, and also a bit hard to categorize, as this really doesn't slot in anywhere, which might make it difficult finding a target audience. It's worth tracking down, though, and kudos to Harris from branching far from his traditional roots.

Current Members

Cygnus (Mitch Harris)

vocals/guitars/keyboards (ex-Meathook Seed, Napalm Death)

Erebus (Shane Embury)

bass (Brujeria, Insidious Disease, Lock Up, ex-Meathook Seed, Napalm Death)

Serpens (Frederic Leclercq)

bass (ex-DragonForce, ex-Heavenly, Kreator, Loudblast, guest for Sigh, Sinsaenum)

Samorost (Derek Roddy)

drums (ex-Aurora Borealis, ex-Council Of The Fallen, ex-Divine Empire, ex-Hate Eternal, ex-Malevolent Creation, guest for Nile)

Radix (Nicola Manzan)



Impact Velocity  
2014 Season Of Mist
  1. I Live With Your Ghost
  2. Painted Rust
  3. Multiple Clarity
  4. To the Marrow
  5. I WonÂ’t See the Sun
  6. Drowning in Density
  7. Positron
  8. Everything and Nothing
  9. Within Context
  10. Malicious Code
  11. Impact Velocity
  12. Seamless Integration
  • Cygnus
  • Erebus
  • Serpens
  • Samorost
  • Radix

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions