Origin: Trondheim, Norway  
Genres: Black Metal
Page online: February 22, 2014
Last update/review: February 22, 2014


First, a bit of history about this band's origins. The Norwegian band Manes was once an old-school black metal project, consisting of the duo of Cernunnus and Sargatanas. They released an album in 1998, then Sargatanas left and Cernunnus (using his real name Tor-Helge Skei) recruited a new lineup and took Manes in a completely different direction (similar to the career path of Ulver). Fast forward to 2013, and Manes (after several years of inactivity) is back, but so also is the pairing of Cernunnus and Sargatanas, and that pair goes by the name Manii. The new album under that name, Kollaps, indeed reverts back to the old, icy black metal style, though a bit more atmospheric in feel. The duo forgoes the trend in minimalist production employed by many black metal bands past and present, and the resulting clearer production enhances the songs greatly. Certainly not uplifting in the slightest, Kollaps is an impressive foray into depressive, cold, atmospheric black metal, and a worthy continuation of the original Manes style.

Current Members

Sargatanas (Thomas Berglie)

vocals (Khold, ex-Manes, Sarke, Tulus)

Cernunnus (Tor-Helge Skei)

guitars (Manes)

Bornyhake (Sergio Da Silva)



2013 Avantgarde
  1. Skoddeheim
  2. Liv-øydar
  3. Likfugl Flaksar
  4. Ei Sjæl som Sloknar
  5. Kaldt
  6. Endelaust
  7. Ei Beingrind i Dans
  8. Avgrunns Djuv
  • Sargatanas
  • Cernunnus

Sinnets Irrganger  
  1. Da har de sænket mig ned i jord
  2. Dødmands ben
  3. Gravsang
  4. Hundre gonger hengd
  5. Sinnets irrganger
  6. Helvetets haller
  7. Dansen gjennom skuggeheimen
  8. Da har de sænket mig ned i jord
  9. Dødmands ben
  10. Gravsang
  11. Hundre gonger hengd
  12. Sinnets irrganger
  13. Helvetets haller
  14. Dansen gjennom skuggeheimen
  • Sargatanas
  • Cernunnus
  • Bornyhake

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions