Origin: Hamburg, Germany  
Genres: Sludge Metal
Page online: August 14, 2016
Last update/review: July 31, 2022


Released in 2014, Death By Burning was somewhat of an oddity at the time, with an odd album cover and released by a band that not many seemed to have heard of, but nonetheless got a fair bit of press and appeared on several best-of-year lists. The band in question is Mantar, a duo out of Germany (vocalist/guitarist and drummer -- no bassist, and in fact no bass on the record at all), and indeed Death is kind of different, loosely based in the sludge metal camp though not as slow and dreary as that genre tends to be. There's a bit of punky attitude and occasionally some old-school Seattle grunge influence makes itself heard, topped by sort of raspy spewed vocals. Most of the songs are on the shorter side (in fact the best song is the shortest, the spoken-vocaled "The Berzerker's Path"), the band preferring a more in-your-face approach. Mantar is not the most complex of bands, but Death is an interesting and cool album, suprisingly heavy in its execution. The duo have since released a followup, Ode To The Flame, in 2016.

Current Members

Hanno Klänhardt


Erinc Sakarya



Death By Burning  
2014 Svart
  1. Spit
  2. Cult Witness
  3. Astral Kannibal
  4. Into the Golden Abyss
  5. Swinging the Eclipse
  6. The Berserker's Path
  7. The Huntsmen
  8. The Stoning
  9. White Nights
  10. March of the Crows
  • Hanno Klänhardt
  • Erinc Sakarya

Ode To The Flame  
2016 Nuclear Blast
  1. Carnal Rising
  2. Praise the Plague
  3. Era Borealis
  4. The Hint
  5. Born Reversed
  6. Oz
  7. I, Omen
  8. Cross the Cross
  9. Schwanenstein
  10. Sundowning
  • Hanno Klänhardt
  • Erinc Sakarya

St. Pauli Sessions  LIVE
  1. The Berserker's Path
  2. Spit
  3. Cult Witness
  4. Astral Kannibal
  5. Into the Golden Abyss
  6. Swinging the Eclipse
  7. The Stoning
  8. White Nights
  • Hanno Klänhardt
  • Erinc Sakarya

The Spell  EP
2017 Nuclear Blast
  1. Pest Crusade
  2. Age of the Vril
  3. The Spell
  • Hanno Klänhardt
  • Erinc Sakarya

The Modern Art Of Setting Ablaze  
2018 Nuclear Blast
  1. The Knowing
  2. Age of the Absurd
  3. Seek + Forget
  4. Taurus
  5. Midgard Serpent (Seasons of Failure)
  6. Dynasty of Nails
  7. Eternal Return
  8. Obey the Obscene
  9. Anti Eternia
  10. The Formation of Night
  11. Teeth of the Sea
  12. The Funeral
  • Hanno Klänhardt
  • Erinc Sakarya

Grungetown Hooligans II  COVERS
2020 independent
  1. The Bomb (L7 cover)
  2. Puss (The Jesus Lizard cover)
  3. 100% (Sonic Youth cover)
  4. Ghost Highway (Mazzy Star cover)
  5. Can I Run (L7 cover)
  6. Bruise Violet (Babes in Toyland cover)
  7. Who You Drivin' Now (Mudhoney cover)
  8. Knot (7 Year Bitch cover)
  • Hanno Klänhardt
  • Erinc Sakarya

Pain Is Forever And This Is The End  
2022 Metal Blade
  1. Egoisto
  2. Hang 'Em Low (So the Rats Can Get 'Em)
  3. Grim Reaping
  4. Orbital Pus
  5. Piss Ritual
  6. Of Frost and Decay
  7. Walking Corpse
  8. New Age Pagan
  9. Horder
  10. Odysseus
  • Hanno Klänhardt
  • Erinc Sakarya

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions