Origin: Kungsbacka, Sweden  
Genres: Power Metal
Official Site
Page online: May 8, 2008
Last update/review: January 13, 2017

Moonlight Agony

Moonlight Agony was best described as a symphonic power metal band, as their core sound contained many of the classic Euro power metal elements (speedy riffing, double-bass drum work, anthemic choruses) mixed with pronounced keyboards and a more grandiose songwriting style. Noted Sri Lankan vocalist Chity Somapala was on board for their first album, and he excelled there as he has for other bands (he left for geographic reasons, as he lived too far away from the rest of the band), managing a clear, strong voice without resorting to high-pitched wailing. Bands like this usually have a knack for pristine production and overall flair, and Moonlight Agony fit that bill perfectly -- without sounding too different from their peers, they executed the symphonic power metal style quite well indeed.

Last Lineup

David Akesson


Kalle Landin


Rickard Petersson


Christer Pedersen

bass (ex-Dragonland, ex-Nightshade)

Martin Mellström


Robert Willstedt


Former Members/Guests

Chity Somapala

vocals (ex-Firewind, ex-Power Quest)

Christofer Starnefalk



Echoes Of A Nightmare  
2004 Massacre
  1. Into Darkness
  2. Icy Plains
  3. Echoes of a Nightmare
  4. Ceremony
  5. Equilibrium
  6. The Ghost
  7. Moonlit Horizon
  8. Vanished
  • Chity Somapala
  • Kalle Landin
  • Rickard Petersson
  • Christofer Starnefalk
  • Martin Mellström
  • Robert Willstedt

Silent Waters  
2007 Dockyard 1
  1. Leaving Solitude
  2. You Betrayed Me
  3. Soulless
  4. Through the Desert Storm
  5. The Dark Era
  6. I'm Alive
  7. Room 101
  8. Different Stories
  9. Bloodred Sails
  10. Solemn Waters
  11. Secret (Japanese bonus track)
  • David Akesson
  • Kalle Landin
  • Rickard Petersson
  • Christer Pedersen
  • Martin Mellström
  • Robert Willstedt

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions