Origin: Germany  
Genres: Death Metal
YouTube Official Site Facebook Twitter Bandcamp
Last update/review: February 24, 2006


With a full lineup on their latest Epitaph release, Necrophagist may finally have conquered the lineup instabilities that have plagued the band ever since its formation. Several lineups existed surrounding founder Muhammed Suicmez in the early days, but when the time came to record, Suicmez was alone, and so he got a drum machine and played the other instruments himself on the 1999 debut, Onset Of Putrefaction. Part of the problem with members staying in the group must be the the complexity of the music, as Onset is a extremely hyperactive technical death metal album, full of twists and turns, with Suicmez' very low growly vocals the only non-technical side of the band. Lyrically, the band is in the early Carcass gore camp, at least if song titles such as "Fermented Offal Discharge", "Intestinal Incubation", and "Culinary Hyperversity" are any indication. In the technical death metal field, these guys are quite good.

Last Lineup

Muhammed Suicmez


Sami Raatikainen


Stefan Fimmers

bass (ex-Pestilence)

Romain Goulon

drums (ex-Agressor, ex-Sadist, Spheric Universe Experience)

Former Members/Guests

Christian Münzner

guitars (Alkaloid, Eternity's End, guest for Hannes Grossmann, Obscura, Paradox, ex-Spawn Of Possession)

Hannes Grossmann

drums (Alkaloid, Blotted Science, Eternity's End, Hate Eternal, Hannes Grossmann, Howling Sycamore, ex-Obscura, Triptykon)


Onset Of Putrefaction  
1999 Velvet
  1. Foul Body Autopsy
  2. To Breathe In A Casket
  3. Mutilate The Stillborn
  4. Intestinal Incubation
  5. Culinary Hyperversity
  6. Advanced Corpse Tumor
  7. Extreme Unction
  8. Fermented Offal Discharge
  • Muhammed Suicmez

2004 Relapse
  1. Stabwound
  2. The Stillborn One
  3. Ignominious & Pale
  4. Diminished To Be
  5. Epitaph
  6. Only Ash Remains
  7. Seven
  8. Symbiotic In Theory
  • Muhammed Suicmez
  • Christian M├╝nzner
  • Stefan Fimmers
  • Hannes Grossmann
2004 Readers' Album #66

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions