Origin: France  
Genres: Doom Metal
Page online: January 17, 1999
Last update/review: January 17, 2017


Northwinds is one of the very few true doom bands from France, having been formed way back in 1987 even though they didn't get around to recording an album until 1998. That album, Great God Pan, is a fine, Sabbath-inspired doom metal album with keyboards applying an occasional psychedelic edge to the proceedings. Black Sabbath's "A National Acrobat" is an interesting choice for a cover, and the bands use of flutes and "celtic instruments" (a bagpipe-like sound in one instance) lends a distinctive touch to the band. Since then they've gone on to record four more albums, most recently releasing Winter in 2015.

Current Members

Thomas Batside


Thomas Boivin


Emmanuel Peyraud


Sylvain Auvé


Former Members/Guests

Vincent Niclas


Sébastian Thurjez

guitars/bass/backing vocals

David Marcos





Great God Pan  
1998 Black Widow
  1. Great God Pan
  2. The Pain
  3. A National Acrobat
  4. The Forest Of Koncoret (The Friends Of Hell)
  5. Mother And Son
  6. Northwinds
  • Vincent Niclas
  • Sébastian Thurjez
  • Marco
  • Sylvain Auvé

Masters Of Magic  
2001 Black Widow
  1. The Great Ancient
  2. Over The Mountain
  3. Lost Paradise
  4. Entre Chien et Loup
  5. Violet Rainbow
  6. Broceliande
  7. King Of A Green Mountain
  8. Dancing In Moonlight
  9. The Book Of Thoth
  • Vincent Niclas
  • David Marcos
  • Marco
  • Sylvain Auvé

2006 Black Widow
  1. Master of Magic
  2. Dusty Pictures
  3. Le Cercle des Fées
  4. Life on the Run
  5. Never Never Land
  6. Winds of Sorrow
  7. Crystal Ball
  8. Le Soir du Diable
  9. Friends of Hell
  • Vincent Niclas
  • Thomas Batside
  • Thomas Boivin
  • Emmanuel Peyraud
  • Sylvain Auvé

2012 Black Widow
  1. Turned to Stone
  2. Land of the Dead
  3. Last Chance
  4. Gorgon (Angel Witch cover)
  5. Black Tower
  6. Winter
  7. Clear Windowpane (Saint Vitus cover)
  • Vincent Niclas
  • Thomas Batside
  • Thomas Boivin
  • Emmanuel Peyraud
  • Sylvain Auvé

Eternal Winter  
2015 Black Widow
  1. Eternal Winter
  2. Chimères
  3. Crossroads
  4. From the Cradle to the Grave
  5. A Light for the Blind
  6. Under Your Spell
  7. No Peace at Last
  8. Inferno (Blitzkrieg cover)
  • Thomas Batside
  • Thomas Boivin
  • Emmanuel Peyraud
  • Sylvain Auvé

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions