Origin: Biella, Italy  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site Facebook YouTube
Last update/review: November 27, 2018

Opera IX

Formed in 1988, Opera IX became a standout in the Italian metal scene in the late nineties, their earlier albums such as Sacro Culto and The Black Opera featuring an impressive, haunting blend of black, doom, and goth metal. Vocalist Cadaveria was a find, able to transition from beautiful soprano to goth crooning to death growls and black rasps, often within the same song. Paired with an everpresent ethereal mood, Opera IX carved a niche as one of the more original bands on the scene. Unfortunately, differences arose between the two main forces in the band (Cadaveria and guitarist Ossian), prompting Cadaveria to leave the band, taking drummer Flegias with her. She later formed a band also called Cadaveria, while Ossian has kept Opera IX going with new membership, including a complete overhaul for 2015's Back To Sepulcro.

Current Members

Dipsas Dianaria (Serena Mastracco)

vocals (ex-Riti Occulti)

Ossian D'Ambrosio



bass (ex-Dark Fortress)

Allesandro Muscio


M:A Fog (Massimo Altomare)

drums (Dead To This World, Hate Profile, ex-Mortuary Drape)

Former Members/Guests

Cadaveria (Raffaella Rivarolo)

vocals (Cadaveria)



M The Bard (Marco De Rosa)

vocals/guitars RIP: November 18, 2017

Abigail Dianaria








Flegias (Marcelo Santos)

drums (Cadaveria, Necrodeath)


drums (ex-Source Of Tide)

Dalamar (Cimi Mezzano)



The Call Of The Wood  
1995 Avantgarde
  1. Alone In The Dark
  2. Esteban's Promise
  3. The Call Of The Wood
  4. Al Azif
  5. Sepulcro
  • Cadaveria
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Vlad
  • Flegias

Sacro Culto  
1998 Avantgarde
  1. The Oak
  2. Fronds Of The Ancient Walnut
  3. The Naked And The Dance
  4. Cimmeries
  5. My Devotion
  6. Under The Sign Of The Red Dragon
  • Cadaveria
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Vlad
  • Lunaris
  • Flegias

The Black Opera  
2000 Avantgarde
  1. Act I: The First Seal
  2. Act II: Beyond The Black Diamond Gate
  3. Act III: Carnal Delight In The Vortex Of Evil
  4. Act IV: Congressus Cum Daemone
  5. Act V: The Magic Temple
  6. Act VI: The Sixth Seal
  7. Bela Lugosi's Dead
  • Cadaveria
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Vlad
  • Lunaris
  • Flegias

2002 Avantgarde
  1. Maleventum
  2. Princess Of The Ancient
  3. UnearTed Arcana
  4. In The Dark I Found The Reflection Of The Hidden Mirrors
  5. Muscaria
  6. Forgotten Gods
  7. In The Raven's Eye
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Vlad
  • Lunaris
  • Taranis

2004 Avantgarde
  1. Many Moons Ago
  2. The Serpent's Nemeton
  3. The Prophecy
  4. In Hoc Signo Sanguinis
  5. Immortal Chant
  6. Scell Lem Duib
  7. In The Sixth Tower
  8. Battle Cry
  9. Anphisbena
  10. One Rode To Asa Bay
  • M The Bard
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Vlad
  • Lunaris
  • Dalamar

The Early Chapters  COMPILATION
2007 Occultum
  1. Prelude
  2. Groglin Grange
  3. Gothik
  4. Cemeteria
  5. Invocation
  6. Rhymes about dying stones
  7. House of agony
  8. Last dawn
  9. Malum in sacrum
  10. Born in the Grave
  11. The Red Death

Mythology - XX Years Of Witchcraft  VIDEO
2007 Occultum

Strix Maladictae In Aeternum  
2012 Agonia
  1. Strix the Prologue (Intro)
  2. 1313 (Eradicate the False Idols)
  3. Dead Tree Ballad
  4. Vox in Rama (part 1)
  5. Vox in Rama (part 2)
  6. Mandragora
  7. Eyes in the Well
  8. Earth and Fire
  9. Ecate -The Ritual (intro)
  10. Ecate
  11. Nemus Tempora Maleficarum
  12. Historia Nocturna
  • M The Bard
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Vlad
  • Dalamar

Back To Sepulcro  
  1. Sepulcro
  2. The Oak
  3. Act I, The First Seal
  4. Maleventum
  5. Consacration
  6. The Cross (Outro)
  • Abigail Dianaria
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Scurs
  • Allesandro Muscio
  • M:A Fog

The Gospel  
2018 Dusktone
  1. The Gospel
  2. Chapter II
  3. Chapter III
  4. Moon Goddess
  5. House of the Wind
  6. The Invocation
  7. Queen of the Serpents
  8. Cimaruta
  9. Sacrilego
  • Dipsas Dianaria
  • Ossian D'Ambrosio
  • Charon
  • Allesandro Muscio
  • M:A Fog

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions