Origin: Chicago, Illinois, USA  
Genres: Death Metal
Last update/review: January 30, 2010


Oppressor's style is low-tuned, death/grind metal, in the tradition of New York bands such as Malevolent Creation or Suffocation, though they originated from Chicago. They managed to release three studio albums, plus a live mini-album which also included their early "As Blood Runs" demo. Around 1997 three-quarters of the band (all except Jim Stopper) teamed up with another Chicago metaller (Shaun Glass, formerly of Sindrome and Broken Hope) to form a side project, which became the heavy alternative rock band Soil. Eventually Soil became the full-time band for the members, signalling the end of Oppressor. Stopper, the lone non-Soil player, joined Twelfth Gate.

Special thanks to DJ "Killa" for providing the opportunity to review this band!

Last Lineup

Tim King


Adam Zadel


Jim Stopper

guitars (ex-Twelfth Gate)

Tom Schofield



Solstice Of Oppression  
1994 Red Light
  1. Seasons
  2. Eclipse Into Eternity
  3. Devour The Soul
  4. And The Angels Fell (The Suffering)
  5. Prelude To Death
  6. Genocide
  7. Rotted Paradise
  8. As Blood Flows
  9. Dying Inside

European Oppression Live (live + demo)  
1995 Olympic
  1. And The Angels Fell (live)
  2. Seasons (live)
  3. As blood flows (live)
  4. Eclipse Into Eternity (live)
  5. I am Darkness (live)
  6. Looks That Kill
  7. Human Sacrifice ('95 version)
  8. Intro-Eclipse Into Eternity
  9. Devour the Soul
  10. As Blood Flows
  11. Prelude to Death
  12. Genocide
  13. Dying Inside
  14. Eternal Damnation

1996 Diehard
  1. Gone
  2. Suffersystem
  3. In Exile
  4. Passage
  5. Valley Of Thorns
  6. Re-Define
  7. Sea Of Tears
  8. I Am Darkness
  9. Carnal Voyage

Elements Of Corrosion  
  1. Corrosion
  2. Kingdom of the dead
  3. Blinded
  4. I despise
  5. Through their eyes
  6. Upon the uncreation
  7. In malice I breathe
  8. Vulgar illusions
  9. Lost in sorrow

The Solstice Of Agony And Corrosion  COMPILATION
  1. Sea of Tears
  2. Gone
  3. Kingdom of the Dead
  4. I Despise
  5. Seasons
  6. Rotted Paradise
  7. Valley of Thorns
  8. In Malice I Breathe
  9. Eclipse Into Eternity
  10. Upon the Uncreation
  11. And the Angels Fell (The Suffering)
  12. Carnal Voyage
  13. Looks That Kill (Motley Crue cover)
  14. Over the Mountain (Ozzy Osbourne cover)

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions