Origin: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA  
Genres: Doom Metal
Official Site Facebook YouTube
Last update/review: November 20, 2010

Place Of Skulls

Some eight years after his quiet departure from the mighty Pentagram, guitarist Victor Griffin emerged in 2002 with a new band, Place Of Skulls, reuniting with bassist Lee Abney, the pair having played together years earlier in Deathrow. Musically, the band delivered solid doom metal as one might expect, while lyrically the band focused on a more spiritual attitude due to Griffin's new beliefs. Soon the band was joined by none other than former The Obsessed guitarist Scott "Wino" Weinrich. Wino appeared on the Skulls' second album, With Vision, but departed to focus on his new band, The Hidden Hand. Later, yet another noted doom personality joined the band some time later, in the person of Revelation guitarist Dennis Cornelius (here playing bass). Following the release of 2010's As A Dog Returns, Griffin rejoined Pentagram for a time, and has more recently formed a new band, In-Graved.

Current Members

Victor Griffin

guitars/vocals (In-Graved, ex-Pentagram)

Lee Abney


Tim Tomaselli

drums (ex-Pentagram)

Former Members/Guests

Scott "Wino" Weinrich

guitars/vocals (ex-The Hidden Hand, The Obsessed, ex-Spirit Caravan, ex-St. Vitus, Wino)

Dennis Cornelius

bass (ex-Oversoul, ex-Revelation, ex-Under The Sun)


2002 Southern Lord
  1. THe Fall
  2. Never Die
  3. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  4. Feeling Of Dread ...
  5. ...
  6. Love She Gave
  7. Return
  8. Song Of Solomon
  • Victor Griffin
  • Lee Abney
  • Tim Tomaselli

With Vision  
2003 Southern Lord
  1. Last Hit
  2. With Vision
  3. Long Lost Grave
  4. Nothing Changes
  5. Dimensional Sojourn
  6. In Rest
  7. Silver Cord Breaks
  8. Willfully Blind
  9. Dissonant Dissident
  10. The Monster
  11. The Watchers
  12. Lost
  • Victor Griffin
  • Scott "Wino" Weinrich
  • Tim Tomaselli

Love Through Blood  EP
2005 Outlaw
  1. Consuming Fire
  2. Cornerstone
  3. Days of Trouble
  4. Blood of Jesus
  • Victor Griffin
  • Lee Abney
  • Tim Tomaselli

The Black Is Never Far  
2006 Exile On Mainstream
  1. Prisoner's Creed
  2. Sense of Divinity
  3. Darkest Hour
  4. Interlude
  5. Apart from me
  6. The Black Is Never Far
  7. We The Unrighteous
  8. Interlude
  9. Masters Of Jest
  10. Interlude
  11. Lookin' For A Reason
  12. Relentless
  13. Changed Heart
  • Victor Griffin
  • Dennis Cornelius
  • Tim Tomaselli

As A Dog Returns  
2010 Giddy Up!
  1. Timeless Hearts
  2. Breath Of Life
  3. Though He Slay Me
  4. Psalm
  5. Dayspring
  6. The Maker
  7. He's God
  8. Desperation
  9. As A Dog Returns
  • Victor Griffin
  • Lee Abney
  • Tim Tomaselli

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions