Origin: Virginia, USA  
Genres: Gothic Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: September 19, 2006

Rain Fell Within

Rain Fell Within is a new band playing atmospheric/gothic doom metal (a field normally dominated by Scandinavian bands), with their trump card being the beautiful operatic vocals courtesy of Dawn, who rivals Tarja of Nightwish for top female vocalist honors. The music might remind one of early The 3rd And The Mortal, expressive atmospheric metal laced with piano, moody though never dreary or depressive. Classy and professional, this band is a must for atmospheric doom metal fans.

In July 2002, on the eve of preparations for their next album, the band folded, citing irreconciliable differences amongst the members. Eventually several members emerged in a new band, Ephemeral Sun.

Last Lineup

Dawn Smith


Kevin Thomas

guitars (ex-Floodgate)

Jason Wood


Charles Gore

bass (Ephemeral Sun)

Laurie Ann Haus

backing vocals (ex-Ephemeral Sun)

John Battema

keyboards (Ephemeral Sun)

Tim Miller

drums (Ephemeral Sun)

Former Members/Guests

Owen Davis



2000 Dark Symphonies
  1. A False Reality
  2. Alone
  3. Believe
  4. Sorrow Becomes Me
  5. The Sun in My Wound
  • Dawn Smith
  • Kevin Thomas
  • Owen Davis
  • Charles Gore
  • Tim Miller

2002 Dark Symphonies
  1. Torn Apart
  2. In The Knowing of You
  3. The Child Beneath
  4. In My Dreams
  5. Save Your Soul
  6. Winter's Embrace
  7. Into The Tower
  8. Sirens
  9. Burned Away
  10. Passing Time
  • Dawn Smith
  • Kevin Thomas
  • Jason Wood
  • Charles Gore
  • John Battema
  • Tim Miller

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions