Origin: Norway  
Page online: June 8, 2007
Last update/review: April 25, 2015


Scum is one of those so-called supergroups that sprout up from time to time, featuring (in this case) four Norwegians and an American aiming to do something outside their day jobs. The biggest name here is Samoth of Emperor and Zyklon fame, but the others feature in such diverse bands as Amen, Mindgrinder, and Turbonegro. And Gospels Of The Sick sounds like none of these bands, going for a raw, thrashy punk sound (the punk vocals courtesy of Casey Chaos of Amen), short on technicality or variation but high on energy and attitude. Based purely on relevance to metal, Gospels is a borderline record, but the band's pedigree is reason enough to include them here, and those into the punkier side of metal might like this. This looks to be a one-off project.

Current Members

Casey Chaos


Samoth (Tomas Haugen)

guitars (ex-Arcturus, ex-Burzum, Emperor, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Satyricon, The Wretched End, ex-Zyklon, ex-Zyklon-B)

Cosmocrator (André Søgnen)

guitars (ex-Source Of Tide, The Wretched End)

Happy Tom


Faust (Bård Eithun)

drums (ex-Aborym, Blood Tsunami, ex-Emperor)


Gospels For The Sick  
2005 Candlelight
  1. Protest Life
  2. Gospels for the Sick
  3. Throw Up on You
  4. Night of A 1000 Deaths
  5. Truth Won't Be Sold
  6. Hate the Sane
  7. Deathpunkscumfuck
  8. Road to Sufferage
  9. Backstabbers Go to Heaven
  10. The Perfect Mistake
  • Casey Chaos
  • Samoth
  • Cosmocrator
  • Happy Tom
  • Faust

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions