Origin: Moscow, Russia  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Page online: July 21, 2003
Last update/review: August 25, 2017


Shah was one of the better Russian bands of the 80's, a time when few Russian bands got much publicity. Unlike many of their compatriots, Shah opted to sing entirely in English, a clear move toward Western acceptance. They formed in 1985 and recorded a demo, Escape From Mind, in 1987, but the departure of bassist Mikhail Zhemchuzhny for a career in the prestigious Gypsy Theatre put the band on hold. Eventually a new lineup stabilized and they signed to the Atom H label for 1989's Beware, arguably their best-known album. Zhemchuzhny's replacement, Anatoly Krupnov (leader of another Russian band, Black Obelisk), also departed, and again the band essentially folded. Leader Antonio Garcia resurrected their earlier recordings and, with some new songs added, got them released as Terror Collection in 1991. By 1993 a new lineup was back in action and two albums were released, Escape From Mind (similar artwork but a different tracklist than the demo) and P.S.I.H.O. in 1994, released, but they folded for good shortly thereafter, with Garcia forming a short-lived solo project called Descent a few years later. The style of Shah was squarely in the thrash arena, decidedly European (perhaps German) in sound, choppy, frenetic, quite well-played, particularly the two official studio releases (Terror Collection, featuring the early material, is quite a bit less developed). Though their style is slightly dated compared with the metal of today, Shah was a fine thrash band in its day, and Beware and P.S.I.H.O. are worth tracking down.

Last Lineup

Former Members/Guests

Antonio Garcia

guitars/vocals (ex-Descent)

Dmitry Saar


Anatoly Krupnov

bass/backing vocals (ex-Black Obelisk) RIP: March 27, 1997, heart attack

Mikhail Zhemchuzhny


Alexander Mamylychev


Alexei Ovchinnikov


Andrei Sazonov



1989 Atom H
  1. Total Devastation
  2. Beware
  3. Coward
  4. Bloodbrothers
  5. Save The Human Race
  6. Age Of Dismay
  7. Threshold Of Pain
  8. Say 'Hi' To Anthrax
  • Antonio Garcia
  • Anatoly Krupnov
  • Andrei Sazonov

Terror Collection  
1991 SNC
  1. Killing Machine '86
  2. Overload '91
  3. Damned Sinner '86
  4. Age Of Darkness '91
  5. Trashing Metal Race '85
  6. Terror Collection '91
  7. Masdon Must Die '85
  8. Mad Future '87
  9. Ashes To Ashes '85
  10. Metal Fight '85
  • Antonio Garcia
  • Mikhail Zhemchuzhny
  • Andrei Sazonov

Escape From Mind  
1993 Stormspell
  1. Escape
  2. No Return
  3. From Out Of Insane
  4. Outside
  5. Last In The Night
  6. Under Grief
  7. Reason X
  8. Escape From Mind
  • Antonio Garcia
  • Dmitry Saar
  • Alexander Mamylychev
  • Andrei Sazonov

1994 Moroz
  1. P.S.I.H.O.
  2. Rhythm Of Instincts
  3. Open
  4. Turn Of The Changes
  5. Final Vocal
  6. Terminal Point
  7. Trespass
  8. Through Inside
  • Antonio Garcia
  • Dmitry Saar
  • Alexei Ovchinnikov
  • Andrei Sazonov

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions