Origin: Tampere, Finland  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Official Site
Page online: February 29, 2008
Last update/review: July 5, 2015


Proof positive that Finland continues to churn out quality bands representing virtually every metal subgenre is Steep, a thrash band who released their debut full-length album, Silence Is Not Golden, in 2006 following an EP two years earlier. This is modern, dense, aggressive thrash with hardcore vocals (similar to, but not quite, metalcore), along the lines of Hatesphere, or perhaps The Haunted. There are clear influences to thrash's past heritage, but this is definitely not the retro thrash style that has suddenly blossomed in popularity. It's pretty vicious and bludgeoning, and though the band could stand to branch out a bit (the individual songs are too similar to each other, and the vocals are pretty one-dimensional as well), Silence is a fine example of modern Scandinavian thrash. Unfortunately the band broke up in 2008.

Last Lineup

Samuli Kuusinen


Jukka Holm


Teemu Mätäsjärvi


Tuomas Granlund


Riku Niemelä

drums/backing vocals


Undisclosed  EP
2004 Lost Mind
  1. Complete lack of ideals and integrity
  2. Redefine
  3. Mouth
  4. Change
  5. Lost Minds
  6. Undisclosed
  • Samuli Kuusinen
  • Jukka Holm
  • Teemu Mätäsjärvi
  • Tuomas Granlund
  • Riku Niemelä

Silence Is Not Golden  
2006 Dies Irae
  1. Silence is Not Golden
  2. Rise
  3. Thousand Years
  4. Redefine
  5. Devouring
  6. Fingerthroat
  7. Sweet Leech
  8. Legions of Hate
  9. Unnatural Disaster
  10. All Dead
  11. The Empire of Grief
  12. Complete Lack of Ideals and Integrity
  13. Change
  14. Saints
  • Samuli Kuusinen
  • Jukka Holm
  • Teemu Mätäsjärvi
  • Tuomas Granlund
  • Riku Niemelä

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions