Origin: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Page online: November 5, 2017
Last update/review: October 1, 2022


Sumerlands is a Philadelphia who slipped under the radar with their self-titled 2016 debut album, garnering heaps of praise for their classy, moody, faintly prog-tinged traditional metal style (think early Queensryche as a rough soundalike). While clearly 80's-inspired, they somehow manage to sound quite original and not like the hoards of so-called retrad bands that continue to make the rounds. Vocalist Phil Swanson's vocals are a revelation, his mid-range voice lending an air of majesty while rarely going for the higher notes (here the Queensryche comparison falters, Swanson sounds nothing like Geoff Tate, though several have noted an early Ozzy similarity). The future seems bright for this band.

Recent album: Dreamkiller, released on September 16, 2022.

Current Members

Brendan Radigan


Arthur Rizk

guitars/keyboards (Eternal Champion, guest for Unto Others)

John Powers

guitars (Eternal Champion)

Brad Raub

bass (Eternal Champion)

Justin DeTore


Former Members/Guests

Phil Swanson

vocals (ex-Hour Of 13)


2016 Relapse
  1. The Seventh Seal
  2. The Guardian
  3. Timelash
  4. Blind
  5. Haunted Forever
  6. Spiral Infinite
  7. Lost My Mind
  8. Sumerlands
  • Phil Swanson
  • Arthur Rizk
  • John Powers
  • Justin DeTore

2022 Relapse
  1. Twilight Points the Way
  2. Heavens Above
  3. Dreamkiller
  4. Night Ride
  5. Edge of the Knife
  6. Force of a Storm
  7. The Savior's Lie
  8. Death to Mercy
  • Brendan Radigan
  • Arthur Rizk
  • John Powers
  • Brad Raub
  • Justin DeTore

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions