Origin: Perth, Scotland  
Genres: Power Metal
Official Site Facebook Twitter
Page online: December 22, 2009
Last update/review: June 18, 2021


This self-described "True Scottish Pirate Metal" band is generating a bit of buzz, though how much of it is based on music and how much is based on image is debateable. It all goes back to 2004 when a band known as Battleheart emerged. As Battleheart they self-released two EPs and then signed to Napalm Records, and as that label already had a similarly-named band (Battlelore), Battleheart officially became Alestorm in August 2006, and in short order the proper full-length debut, Captain Morgan's Revenge, was put out. Now, it's not as if this image is new, as Running Wild employed (and, arguably, ran into the ground) the pirate theme years ago, but Alestorm are determined to embrace every pirate cliche imagineable and run with it. Musically, they are weakly in the folk metal camp and more aligned with power metal and even rollicking Viking metal (musically, not lyrically, of course), with Turisas being an occasional soundalike. Overall, they're enjoyable enough and good for a laugh, but musically they haven't really established a unique identity, which may or may not be an issue as they progress.

Current Members

Christopher Bowes

vocals (Gloryhammer)

Máté Bodor


Gareth Murdock

bass/backing vocals

Elliot Vernon


Pete Alcorn


Former Members/Guests

Gavin Harper


Lasse Lammert (guest)


Dani Evans


Migo Wagner (guest)


Ian Wilson

drums (Sweet Savage)


Battleheart  EP
2006 self-released
  1. The Glorious Battle
  2. Heavy Metal Pirates
  3. Over the Seas
  4. No Quarter
  5. Nancy the Tavern Wench
  6. Journey Man
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper

Terror On The High Seas  EP
2006 self-released
  1. The Curse of Captain Morgan
  2. Set Sail and Conquer
  3. Terror on the High Seas
  4. Wenches and Mead
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper
  • Dani Evans

Captain Morgan's Revenge  
2008 Napalm
  1. Over the Seas
  2. Captain Morgan's Revenge
  3. The Huntmaster
  4. Nancy the Tavern Wench
  5. Death Before the Mast
  6. Terror on the High Seas
  7. Set Sail and Conquer
  8. Of Treasure
  9. Wenches & Mead
  10. Flower of Scotland
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper
  • Dani Evans
  • Migo Wagner

Leviathan  EP
2008 Napalm
  1. Leviathan
  2. Wolves of the Sea
  3. Weiber und Wein
  4. Heavy Metal Pirates
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Gavin Harper
  • Lasse Lammert
  • Dani Evans
  • Migo Wagner

Black Sails At Midnight  
2009 Napalm
  1. The Quest
  2. Leviathan
  3. That Famous Ol' Spiced
  4. Keelhauled
  5. To the End of Our Days
  6. Black Sails at Midnight
  7. No Quarter
  8. Pirate Song
  9. Chronicles of Vengeance
  10. Wolves of the Sea
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Ian Wilson
2009 Readers' Album #76

Back Through Time  
2011 Napalm
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Pete Alcorn
2011 Readers' Album #83

Live At The End Of The World  LIVE
2013 Napalm
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn

Sunset On The Golden Age  
2014 Napalm
  1. Walk the Plank
  2. Drink
  3. Magnetic North
  4. 1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)
  5. Mead from Hell
  6. Surf Squid Warfare
  7. Quest for Ships
  8. Wooden Leg!
  9. Hangover (Taio Cruz cover)
  10. Sunset on the Golden Age
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Dani Evans
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn

No Grave But The Sea  
2017 Napalm
  1. No Grave But The Sea
  2. Mexico
  3. To the End of the World
  4. Alestorm
  5. Bar und Imbiss
  6. Fucked with an Anchor
  7. Pegleg Potion
  8. Man the Pumps
  9. Rage of the Pentahook
  10. Treasure Island
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Máté Bodor
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn
2017 Readers' Album #35

Curse Of The Crystal Coconut  
2020 Napalm
  1. Treasure Chest Party Quest
  2. Fannybaws
  3. Chomp Chomp
  4. Tortuga
  5. Zombies Ate My Pirate Ship
  6. Call of the Waves
  7. Pirate's Scorn
  8. Shit Boat (No Fans)
  9. Pirate Metal Drinking Crew
  10. Wooden Leg Part 2 (The Woodening)
  11. Henry Martin
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Máté Bodor
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn

Live In Tilburg  LIVE
2021 Napalm
  1. Intro
  2. Keelhauled
  3. Alestorm
  4. Magnetic North
  5. Mexico
  6. Over the Seas
  7. The Sunk’n Norwegian
  8. No Grave But The Sea
  9. Nancy the Tavern Wench
  10. Rumpelkombo
  11. 1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)
  12. Drunken Sailor
  13. Hangover (Taio Cruz cover)
  14. Pegleg Potion
  15. Bar ünd Imbiss
  16. Captain Morgan`s Revenge
  17. Shipwrecked
  18. Drink
  19. Wolves of the Sea
  20. Fucked with an Anchor
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Máté Bodor
  • Gareth Murdock
  • Elliot Vernon
  • Pete Alcorn

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions