Origin: Zwickau, Germany  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Page online: May 23, 2007
Last update/review: December 8, 2022


It's one thing for an established band to tinker with their sound for an album, or even branch out in a new direction. But it's quite another for a band to debut with a solid album, well-received by both fans and critics, and then do something quite different with their followup. But that's what Disillusion did. After debuting with a little-known EP in 2001, the band burst on to the scene with Back To Times Of Splendor in 2004, an album that deservedly drew raves from all corners for its impressive and unique take on progressive metal. Miles from the ordinary melodic prog metal of the typical Dream Theater clone, Splendor has more in common with bands like Into Eternity (not a direct soundalike, mind you), combining aggressive yet progressive melodies with both clean and harsh vocals. By contrast, 2006's Gloria, was a different animal altogether, the band experimenting with stark rhythms and vocals that at times brought Rammstein of all bands to mind. This was no longer simply progressive metal, but something altogether more experimental and different. This change clearly alienated some listeners, though others were pleased with the unexpectedness and progression that the band showed. It would be 13 years before the band, featuring an all-new lineup surrounding founder Andy Schmidt, would return with a new album, and that album, The Liberation, was a partial return to the Splendor style, though the band still has found ways to broaden their sound and keep listeners interested. That drive continued on 2022's Ayam, solidifying Schmidt and crew as of the true innovators in progressive metal.

Current Members

Andy Schmidt


Ben Haugg


Robby Kranz


Martin Schulz


Former Members/Guests

Rajk Barthel


Sebastian Hupfer


Felix Tilemann


Jens Maluschka


Josh Saldanha



Three Neuron Kings  EP
2001 self-released
  1. In Vengeful Embrace
  2. Expired
  3. The Long Way Down To Eden
  4. Three Neuron Kings
  • Andy Schmidt
  • Rajk Barthel
  • Jens Maluschka

Back To Times Of Splendor  
2004 Metal Blade
  1. ... And The Mirror Cracked
  2. Full
  3. Alone I Stand In Fires
  4. Back To Times Of Splendro
  5. A Day By The Lake
  6. The Sleep Of Restless Hours
  • Andy Schmidt
  • Rajk Barthel
  • Jens Maluschka

2006 Metal Blade
  1. The Black Sea
  2. Dread It
  3. Don't Go Any Further
  4. Avalanche
  5. Gloria
  6. Aerophobic
  7. The Hole We Are In
  8. Save the Past
  9. Lava
  10. Too Many Broken Cease Fires
  11. Untiefen
  • Andy Schmidt
  • Rajk Barthel
  • Jens Maluschka

The Liberation  
2019 Prophecy
  1. In Waking Hours
  2. Wintertide
  3. The Great Unknown
  4. A Shimmer in the Darkest Sea
  5. The Liberation
  6. Time to Let Got
  7. The Mountain
  • Andy Schmidt
  • Sebastian Hupfer
  • Ben Haugg
  • Felix Tilemann
  • Josh Saldanha

2022 Prophecy
  1. Am Abgrund
  2. Tormento
  3. Driftwood
  4. Abide the Storm
  5. Longhope
  6. Nine Days
  7. From the Embers
  8. The Brook
  • Andy Schmidt
  • Ben Haugg
  • Robby Kranz
  • Martin Schulz

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions