Origin: New Jersey, USA  
Genres: Nu-Metal
Official Site
Page online: March 24, 2003
Last update/review: August 3, 2014

Ill Niño

Based in New Jersey but with substantial Latin heritage, the well-named Ill Niño are a potent new force in the American nu-metal genre, with a sound and style that is very familiar (labelmates Spineshank might be a rough starting reference point) with enough originality (in part due to some much-publicized Latin rhythms) so that they aren't simply also-rans in the field. The musicianship and production values are solid, starting with vocalist Cristian Machado, who combines clean singing and the standard nu-metal harsh roars with ease. The songwriting is fine, though at times they do tend to sound like their contemporaries rather than forging ahead on their own. The Latin influence is mostly confined to some interesting rhythms from then-percussionist Roger Vasquez -- the band would do well to increase the percussionist role in their sound. As it is, Revolution/Revolución is a solid debut for a young band, and with a second full-length Confessions released in late 2003, the band is still on the rise.

Current Members

Cristian Machado


Ahrue Luster

guitars (ex-Manmade God, ex-Machine Head)

Diego Verduzco

rhythm guitar

Lazaro Pina


Dave Chavarri

drums (ex-Gothic Slam, ex-Laaz Rockit, ex-Merauder, ex-M.O.D., ex-Pro-Pain)

Danny Couto


Former Members/Guests

Marc Rizzo

lead guitar (Cavalera Conspiracy, Soulfly)

Jardel Paisante

rhythm guitar

Roger Vasquez



Ill Niño  EP
2000 C.I.A.
  1. Nothing's Clear
  2. Disposed
  3. Rumba
  4. Fallen
  5. Part Of The Signs
  6. El Niño
  7. God Is I
  • Cristian Machado
  • Marc Rizzo
  • Jardel Paisante
  • Lazaro Pina
  • Dave Chavarri
  • Roger Vasquez

Revolution Revolucion  
2001 Roadrunner
  1. God Save Us
  2. If You Still Hate Me
  3. Unreal
  4. Nothing's Clear
  5. What Comes Around
  6. Liar
  7. Rumba
  8. Predisposed
  9. I Am Loco
  10. No Murder
  11. Rip Out You Eyes
  12. Revolution/Revolución
  13. With You
  • Cristian Machado
  • Marc Rizzo
  • Jardel Paisante
  • Lazaro Pina
  • Dave Chavarri
  • Roger Vasquez

2003 Roadrunner
  1. Te Amo...I Hate You
  2. How Can I Live
  3. Two (Vaya Con Dios)
  4. Unframed
  5. Cleansing
  6. This Time's For Real
  7. Lifeless...Life...
  8. Numb
  9. Have You Ever Felt?
  10. When It Cuts
  11. Letting Go
  12. All The Right Words
  13. Re-Birth
  • Cristian Machado
  • Ahrue Luster
  • Jardel Paisante
  • Lazaro Pina
  • Dave Chavarri
  • Danny Couto

One Nation Underground  
2005 Roadrunner
  1. This Is War
  2. My Resurrection
  3. What You Deserve
  4. La Liberacion Of Our Awakening
  5. Turns To Gray
  6. All I Ask For
  7. De La Vida
  8. Corazon Of Mine
  9. Everything Beautiful
  10. In This Moment
  11. My Pleasant Torture
  12. Violent Saint
  13. Red Rain
  • Cristian Machado
  • Ahrue Luster
  • Jardel Paisante
  • Lazaro Pina
  • Dave Chavarri
  • Danny Couto

2008 Cement Shoes
  1. The Alibi of Tyrants
  2. Hot Summer's Tragedy
  3. Compulsion of Virus and Fever
  4. Finger-Painting (With the Enemy)
  5. March Against Me
  6. 2012
  7. Pieces of the Sun
  8. Formal Defense
  9. Estoy Perdido
  10. De Sangre Hermosa
  11. Kellogg's, Bombs, and Cracker-Jacks
  12. Guerrilla Carnival
  13. Me Gusta La Soledad
  • Cristian Machado
  • Ahrue Luster
  • Diego Verduzco
  • Lazaro Pina
  • Dave Chavarri
  • Danny Couto

Dead New World  
2010 Victory
  1. God Is Only For The Dead
  2. The Art Of War
  3. Against The Wall
  4. Mi Revolucion
  5. Bleed Like You
  6. Serve The Grave
  7. If You Were Me
  8. Ritual
  9. Killing You, Killing Me
  10. How Could I Believe
  11. Bullet With Butterfly Wings
  12. Scarred

2012 Victory
  1. The Depression
  2. Only The Unloved
  3. La Epidemia
  4. Eva
  5. Demi-God
  6. Death Wants More
  7. Escape
  8. Time Won't Save You
  9. Forgive Me Father...
  10. Invisible People

Till Death, La Familia  
2014 Victory

Copyright © 1995-2019 BNR Productions