Origin: Norway  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site Facebook Twitter YouTube
Page online: October 19, 2004
Last update/review: March 31, 2015

Keep Of Kalessin

One of a seemingly bottomless well of Norwegian metal bands, Keep Of Kalessin was formed in 1994, initially as Ildsjaer, and released two commendable old-school black metal albums in the late nineties. Agnen, the latter of those two albums, is pretty typical black metal fare, guitars and drums racing along with the standard vocal style intact. Certainly far from bad, but perhaps lacking a truely unique identity. The original lineup broke up in 2000, but leader Obsidian C was determined not to quit. He joined Satyricon as a touring guitarist, and in doing so was able to recruit legendary Satyricon drummer Frost to join a new version of KOK. Not only that, another big name in the black metal scene, Attila Csihar (Mayhem, Aborym) agreed to become the vocalist. This new all-star trio released an MCD, Reclaim, in 2003. Neither Frost nor Csihar are still in the band, but Obsidian C continues on with new members.

Current Members

Thebon (Torbjørn Schei)

vocals (ex-Subliritum)

Obsidian Claw (Arnt Grønbech)


Wizziac (Robin Isaksen)


Vyl (Vegard Larsen)

drums (Chton, Subliritum)

Former Members/Guests



Attila Csihar

vocals (ex-Aborym, Mayhem, Sinsaenum, guest for Sunn O))))



Frost (Kjetil Haraldstad)

drums (1349, guest for Gehenna, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Ov Hell, Satyricon, ex-Zyklon-B)


Through Times Of War  
1997 Avantgarde
  1. Through times of war
  2. Den siste krig
  3. As a shadow cast
  4. I choose to suffer
  5. Skygger av sorg
  6. Obliterator
  7. Nectarous Red - Itch
  • Ghash
  • Obsidian Claw
  • Warach
  • Vyl

Agnen: A Journey Through The Dark  
1999 Avantgarde
  1. Pain Humanised
  2. As mist lay silent beneath
  3. I deny
  4. Dryland
  5. Orb of man
  6. Dragonlord
  7. Towards I roam
  8. Agnen
  • Ghash
  • Obsidian Claw
  • Warach
  • Vyl

(MCD) Reclaim  
2003 Facefront
  1. Traveller
  2. IX
  3. Come Damnation
  4. Obliterator
  5. Reclaim
  • Attila Csihar
  • Obsidian Claw
  • Frost

2006 Tabu
  1. Surface
  2. Crown of the Kings
  3. The Black Uncharted
  4. Vengeance Rising
  5. Many are We
  6. Winged Watcher
  7. Into the Fire
  8. Deluge
  9. The Wealth of Darkness
  10. Armada
  • Thebon
  • Obsidian Claw
  • Wizziac
  • Vyl
2006 Readers' Album #79

2008 Nuclear Blast
  1. Origin
  2. A New Empire’s Birth
  3. Against The Gods
  4. The Rising Sun
  5. Warmonger
  6. Escape The Union
  7. The Mark Of Power
  8. Kolossus
  9. Ascendant
  • Thebon
  • Obsidian Claw
  • Wizziac
  • Vyl
2008 Readers' Album #56

2010 Nuclear Blast
  1. Dragon Iconography
  2. The Awakening
  3. Judgement
  4. The Dragontower
  5. Leaving The Mortal Flesh
  6. Dark As Moonless Night
  7. The Divine Land
  8. Reptilian Majesty

2015 Indie
  1. Cosmic Revelation (Intro)
  2. The Spiritual Relief
  3. Dark Divinity
  4. The Grand Design
  5. Necropolis
  6. Universal Core
  7. Introspection
  8. Epistemology
  • Obsidian Claw
  • Wizziac
  • Vyl

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions