Origin: Norway  
Genres: Black Metal, Industrial
Official Site Facebook
Last update/review: June 27, 2015

The Kovenant

The Kovenant, the band known formerly as Covenant, has come a long way since their early days. As Covenant, this band released two albums, with the first (In Times Before The Night) a rather typical black metal affair, and the latter (Nexus Polaris) widely regarded as a classic in the black metal field, though by this time the band was broadening its style and was already uncomfortable being labelled as black metal. To avoid legal conflicts with a Swedish band also called Covenant, the band decided to switch names to The Kovenant, but the change did not end there. Stripped to a trio, all of which took new stage names, the band also made a stylistic change on the newer Animatronic album, taking a bit of the Nexus sound and combining it with a sort of spacey, industrial/techno blend. Comparisons to bands such as Marilyn Manson and Rammstein have been made (neither of which are completely valid, though one can find some traces of both on Animatronic) -- though the new album is somewhat more accessible than its predecessor, the shift isn't quite as drastic as others have claimed. Not surprisingly, the change in image and sound sharply divided fans, some of whom welcomed the new look and others who wanted more of the Nexus style.

Quiet for the next couple of years, The Kovenant decided on an interesting move, opting to add modern effects (in keeping with their current direction) to the In Times debut, essentially releasing an updated, enhanced version of the album. Finally, 2003 saw the release of their proper followup to Animatronic, in the form of S.E.T.I.. Their progression away from black metal is now complete, as the band is now firmly in the techno/electronic metal arena, somewhat like a cross between the recent albums of Atrocity and Theatre Of Tragedy. Again, anyone expecting their recent material to sound anything like Nexus Polaris might be disappointed, but their new direction is intriguing, and S.E.T.I. is an interesting album in a not so crowded field.

Current Members

Lex Icon (Stian Arnesen)

bass/vocals (ex-Carpe Tenebrum, ex-Dimmu Borgir, ex-Nocturnal Breed, Troll)

Psy Coma (Amund Svensson)




Geir Bratland



drums (Ram-Zet)

Former Members/Guests

Astennu (Jamie Stinson)

guitars (ex-Carpe Tenebrum, ex-Dimmu Borgir)

Steinar Sverd Johnsen

keyboards (ex-Arcturus)

Sara Jezebel Deva


Jan Axel Von Blomberg

drums (ex-Arcturus, guest for Dimmu Borgir, ex-Jorn, Mayhem, ex-Mezzerschmitt, ex-Thorns, ex-Troll, ex-Winds)


In Times Before The Light  
1997 Mordgrimm
  1. Towards The Crown Of Nights
  2. Dragonstorms
  3. The Dark Conquest
  4. From The Storm Of Shadows
  5. Night Of The Blackwinds
  6. The Chasm
  7. Visions Of A Lost Kingdom
  8. Trough The Eyes Of The Raven
  9. In Times Before The Light
  10. Monarch Of The Mighty Darkness
  • Lex Icon
  • Psy Coma

Nexus Polaris  
1998 Nuclear Blast
  1. The Sulphur Feast
  2. Bizarre Cosmic Industries
  3. Planetarium
  4. The Last of Dragons
  5. Bringer of the Sixth Sun
  6. Dragonheart
  7. Planetary Black Elements
  8. Chariots of Thunder
  • Lex Icon
  • Psy Coma
  • Astennu
  • Steinar Sverd Johnsen
  • Sara Jezebel Deva
  • Jan Axel Von Blomberg

1999 Nuclear Blast
  1. Mirror's paradise
  2. New world order
  3. Mannequin
  4. Sindrom
  5. Jihad
  6. The human abstract
  7. Prophecies of fire
  8. In the name of the future
  9. Spaceman
  10. The birth of tragedy
  • Lex Icon
  • Psy Coma
  • Jan Axel Von Blomberg

In Times Before The Light  
2002 Hammerheart
  1. Towards The Crown Of Nights
  2. Dragonstorms
  3. The Dark Conquest
  4. From The Storm Of Shadows
  5. Night Of The Blackwinds
  6. The Chasm
  7. Visions Of A Lost Kingdom
  8. Through The Eyes Of The Raven
  9. In The Times Before Light
  10. Monarchs Of Mighty Darkness

2003 Nuclear Blast
  1. Cybertrash
  2. Planet of the Apes
  3. Star by Star
  4. Via Negativa
  5. Stillborn Universe
  6. Acid Theatre
  7. Perfect End
  8. Neon
  9. Keepers of the Garden
  10. Pantomime
  11. Hollow Earth
  12. Industrial Twilight
  • Lex Icon
  • Psy Coma
  • Angel
  • Jan Axel Von Blomberg

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions