Origin: England  
Genres: NWOBHM
Facebook Official Site
Last update/review: April 27, 2013


Legend were one of the lost treasures of the NWOBHM -- in fact, Legend is the all-time favorite band of the BNR Metal Pages. The Legend sound consists of a Sabbath guitar sound (much more so on the first album, not very much on the others), the occasional jazzy influence, and vocals which were once described as "folky", (yet fit perfectly with the music), and thought-provoking lyrics. They were one of the most original bands to originate from the NWOBHM movement, yet their location (secluded on the Channel Islands between England and France) relegated them to little-known status during their tenure. All of their stuff was basically self-financed and the production on their albums wasn't great (though the EP sounded pretty good in that respect). An absolutely brilliant, and criminally underrated, band.

Years after the breakup of the band, guitarist/founder Peter Haworth put together a digitally remastered compilation CD entitled Retroshock, and more recently the entire Legend catalog (both albums, EP, and an unreleased demo) has been released on 2 CDs, in the form of Anthology. Finally, in 2003, came the more than welcome, yet quite unexpected, comeback album, Still Screaming, reuniting Haworth with frontman Mike Lezala. Simply put, it's what a comeback album should sound like, retaining much of the classic Legend style while at the same time sounding modern and original. Hails to the band for a job quite well done! Since then, Haworth and Lezala have recruited a new lineup (including luring bassist Eggy Aubert back into the fold) with the intent to play live, as well as record later in 2003.

Current Members

Mike Lezala


Peter Haworth


Sean Gregory


Eggy Aubert


Jack Pallot


Former Members/Guests

Marco Morosino


David Whitley



1981 independent
  1. Badgirl
  2. Taste Of Life
  3. Buried Alive
  4. Negligence
  5. Torture
  6. Hiroshima
  7. Song For A Soldier
  • Mike Lezala
  • Peter Haworth
  • Marco Morosino
  • Eggy Aubert
  • David Whitley

Death In The Nursery  
1982 independent
  1. Choices
  2. Warrior
  3. Time bomb
  4. Lazy woman
  5. Why Don't You Kill Me?
  6. Anthrax Attack
  7. Prisoner
  8. Death In The Nursery
  9. Prologue
  • Mike Lezala
  • Peter Haworth
  • Eggy Aubert
  • David Whitley

Limited Edition  EP
1982 independent
  1. Frontline
  2. Sabra And Chatila
  3. Stormers Of Heaven
  4. Open Up The Skies
  • Mike Lezala
  • Peter Haworth
  • Eggy Aubert
  • David Whitley

Retroshock 1981-1984  COMPILATION
1998 self-financed
  1. Frontline
  2. Prisoner
  3. Stormers Of Heaven
  4. Buried Alive
  5. Warrior
  6. Choices
  7. Hiroshima
  8. Open Up The Skies
  9. Sabra And Chatila
  10. Torture
  11. Prologue
  12. Negligence
  13. Questions And Answers
  14. Anthrax Attack

2002 Monster
  1. Torture
  2. Hiroshima
  3. Buried Alive
  4. Taste Of Life
  5. Bad Girl
  6. Negligence
  7. Song For A Soldier
  8. Stormers Of Heaven
  9. Open Up The Skies
  10. Frontline
  11. Sabra & Chatila
  12. Why Don't You Kill Me
  13. Choices
  14. Anthrax Attack
  15. Prisoner
  16. Lazy Woman
  17. Warrior
  18. Timebomb
  19. Death In The Nursery
  20. Prologue
  21. Questions & Answers
  22. Catch a Moment
  23. Out of Luck
  24. It's Not the Same
  25. The Other Day
  26. Take me Away

Still Screaming  
2003 Monster
  1. I'm Not Angry
  2. GHB
  3. Eden Massacre
  4. Still Screaming
  5. Take a Man
  6. Born in Chaos
  7. Generations Underground
  8. Maybe This Time
  9. Living in Your Nightmare
  10. Pompeii
  11. Hiroshima 2003
  • Mike Lezala
  • Peter Haworth

The Dark Place  
  1. The Dark Place
  2. Red
  3. Too Late to be A Hero
  4. Halls of the Dead
  5. The Watcher
  6. Monster
  7. Paragon
  8. Burn with Your Demons
  • Mike Lezala
  • Peter Haworth
  • Sean Gregory
  • Eggy Aubert
  • Jack Pallot

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions