Origin: Portland, Oregon, USA  
Genres: Black Metal
Page online: February 4, 2018
Last update/review: February 4, 2018


Leviathan is one of the names that come up when the subject of the old guard of American black metal comes up. The work of one man going by the name Wrest, Leviathan the project has been around since 1998, with the usual host of demos, splits, and other recordings in addition to the full-length albums listed here. One can expect harrowing aural journeys into the depths of death, despair, and other similarly non-upbeat topics. Predictably, the project has been shelved and rejuvenated several times over the course of some 20 years.

Current Members

Wrest (Jef Whitehead)

vocals/all instruments


The Tenth Sub Level Of Suicide  
2003 Moribund
  1. Introit
  2. Fucking Your Ghost in Chains of Ice
  3. Sardoniscorn
  4. The Bitter Emblem of Dissolve
  5. Scenic Solitude and Leprosy
  6. He Whom Shadows Move Towards
  7. Submersed
  8. Mine Molten Armor
  9. The Idiot Sun
  10. At the Door to the Tenth Sub Level of Suicide
  • Wrest

Tentacles Of Whorror  
2004 Moribund
  1. What Fresh Hell
  2. Heir to the Noose of Ghoul
  3. Cut, with the Night, into Mine Heart
  4. A Bouquet of Blood for Skull
  5. Deciphering Legend Within the Serpent's Briar
  6. A Necessary Mutilation
  7. Vexed and Vomit Hexed
  8. Tentacles of Whorror (Revel the Tyrant)
  9. Requiem for a Turd World
  10. Blood Red and True: Part 3 (Plummeting Obscure)
  11. Mouth Orifice Bizarre
  12. The History of Rape
  • Wrest

A Silhouette In Splinters  
2005 Profound Lore
  1. Traveling over the Ocean's Skull
  2. It Comes in Whispers: Part 2
  3. Particular Dis-ease
  4. Shimmering with Horn of Woe
  5. A Silhouette in Splinters
  6. Blood Red and True: Part 2 (A Spell to Vanquish Sea Serpents)
  • Wrest

The Speed Of Darkness  EP
2006 Moribund
  1. Vesture Dipped in the Blood of Morning
  2. Merging with Sword, onto Them
  3. Made as the Stale Wine of Wrath
  4. VI-XI-VI
  5. Receive the World
  6. Vulgar Asceticism
  7. Noisome Ash Crown
  • Wrest

The Blind Wound  EP
  1. I Miss Watching You Die
  2. Pondering the Wealth of the Stars
  3. Fossils of Hope
  4. S.W.O.L.
  5. Your Army Awaits
  • Wrest

Massive Conspiracy Against All Life  
2008 Southern Lord
  1. Odious Convulsions (They Are Not Worthy of His Name)
  2. The Fourth Blind Wound
  3. Another Sip of Fear
  4. Crushing the Prolapsed Oviducts of Virtue
  5. Mesmerism
  • Wrest

True Traitor  
2011 Profound Lore
  1. True Whorror
  2. Her Circle Is the Noose
  3. Brought Up to This Bottom
  4. Contrary Pulse
  5. Shed This Skin
  6. Every Orifice Yawning Her Price
  7. Harlot Rises (Mesmerized Again)
  8. Blood Red and True
  • Wrest

Scar Sighted  
  1. -
  2. The Smoke of Their Torment
  3. Dawn Vibration
  4. Gardens of Coprolite
  5. Wicked Fields of Calm
  6. Within Thrall
  7. A Veil Is Lifted
  8. Scar Sighted
  9. All Tongues Toward
  10. Aphonos
  • Wrest

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions