Origin: Gothenburg, Sweden  
Genres: Power Metal
Page online: February 21, 2017
Last update/review: February 21, 2017


Manimal hails from the Swedish metal hotbed that is Gothenburg, though melodic death metal they are definitely not. They debuted in 2009 with The Darkest Room and six years later the followup finally emerged in Trapped In The Shadows. First and foremost are the vocals of Sam Nyman. His upper range is impressive indeed and he's certainly not afraid to go for the high notes, almost too often. Musically, here's plenty of vintage Germanic power metal here, but also a noticeable prime Queensryche vibe, which in the hands of a lesser singer might have been a mistake. This style of power metal arguably isn't quite as in vogue in 2016 as it was, say, 10 years ago, but there are still plenty of bands playing it and plenty of fans wanting more, and Manimal fits the bill.

Current Members

Samuel Nyman


Henrik Stenroos


Kenny Boufadene


André Holmqvist

drums (Ice Age)

Former Members/Guests

Pether Mentzer


Richard Mentzer



The Darkest Room  
  1. Shadows
  2. The Darkest Room
  3. Living Dead
  4. I Am
  5. Ordinary Man
  6. Human Nature
  7. Spinegrinder
  8. Dreamers And Fools
  9. The Life We Lived
  • Samuel Nyman
  • Henrik Stenroos
  • Pether Mentzer
  • Richard Mentzer

Trapped In The Shadows  
2015 AFM
  1. Irresistible
  2. March of Madness
  3. The Dark
  4. Trapped in the Shadows
  5. Invincible
  6. Man-Made Devil
  7. Silent Messiah
  8. The Journey
  9. Screaming Out
  10. Psychopomp
  • Samuel Nyman
  • Henrik Stenroos
  • Kenny Boufadene
  • AndrĂ© Holmqvist

2018 AFM
  1. Black Plague
  2. Purgatorio
  3. Manimalized
  4. Spreading the Dread
  5. Traitor
  6. Behind Enemy Lines
  7. Denial
  8. Edge of Darkness
  9. The Fear Within
  • Samuel Nyman
  • Henrik Stenroos
  • Kenny Boufadene
  • AndrĂ© Holmqvist

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions