Origin: Montreal, Quebec, Canada  
Genres: Stoner Rock, Hard Rock
Official Site
Page online: July 5, 2008
Last update/review: January 30, 2010


Canada hasn't produced a lot in the way of traditional hard rock/metal bands in recent times -- sure, the Quebec tech/death metal scene is well-established, and throughout the years bands like Annihilator, Voivod, and Anvil have had their time in the spotlight (not to mention Rush, the most well-known of them all), but classic hard rock hasn't been a Canuck trademark. Montreal's Priestess aims to change that. Hello Master, released in 2005, is an unabashed heavy rock/metal album with a distinct stoner rock edge, though they may or may not really belong in that genre. There are shades of early Kyuss here, as well as a bit of Queens Of The Stone Age and perhaps Fu Manchu, though at other times they take a more classic hard rock stance. Then there's "Time Will Cut You Down", a bluesy semi-ballad that sounds like it's straight from the 80's glam metal scene. Overall, there's a certain timelessness on display here -- Priestess doesn't pretend to be anything more than a hard rocking band, and on that level they succeed. Could be a Next Big Thing in rock music.

Last Lineup

Mikey Heppner


Dan Watchorn

guitars/backing vocals

Mike Dyball


Vince Nudo

drums/backing vocals


Hello Master  
2005 Outside
  1. I Am The Night, Colour Me Black
  2. Lay Down
  3. Run Home
  4. Two Kids
  5. Talk to Her
  6. Time Will Cut You Down
  7. Everything That You Are
  8. The Shakes
  9. Performance
  10. Living Like a Dog
  11. No Real Pain
  12. Blood
  • Mikey Heppner
  • Dan Watchorn
  • Mike Dyball
  • Vince Nudo

Prior To The Fire  
  1. Lady Killer
  2. Raccoon Eyes
  3. The Firebird
  4. Murphy's Law
  5. The Gem
  6. Communicating Via-Eyes
  7. Lunar
  8. It Baffles The Mind
  9. Sideways Attack
  10. We Ride Tonight
  11. Trapped In Space & Time
  • Mikey Heppner
  • Dan Watchorn
  • Mike Dyball
  • Vince Nudo

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions