Origin: San Diego, California, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site Bandcamp Facebook
Last update/review: October 12, 2010

Psychotic Waltz

Over the course of their four-album career, Psychotic Waltz firmly established themselves as an outstanding and unique progressive metal band. The band's discography is rather neatly divided into two eras, with their first two albums engaging in a more adventurous, technical form of prog metal while the latter two albums toning down the complexity for a more relaxed, spacey, psychedelic edge. Throughout their career, though, they kept it original, with odd time signatures, interesting riffs, and the unique vocals of Buddy Lackey forging a sound that some have likened to early Fates Warning or even Jethro Tull at times. The majority opinion is that the debut, A Social Grace is their best effort, though the personal opinion here is for 1994's Mosquito. Since their original breakup in 1998, several of the guys have stayed active in the metal scene, most notably Lackey (now going by his real name Devon Graves) who fronted Deadsoul Tribe for some time. After more than a decade away from the scene, a largely original lineup has reformed in 2010, with a tour in place and writing for a new album underway.

Current Members

Buddy Lackey (Devon Graves)

vocals (ex-Deadsoul Tribe)

Brian McAlpin


Steve Cox

guitars (Teabag)

Ward Evans


Norm Leggio

drums (Brick Bath, ex-Cage, ex-End Amen, Teabag)

Former Members/Guests

Dan Rock

guitars (ex-Darkstar, ex-End Amen)

Phil Cuttino



A Social Grace  
1990 independent
  1. And The Devil Cried
  2. Halo Of Thorns
  3. Another Prophet Song
  4. Successor
  5. In This Place
  6. I Remember
  7. I Of The Storm
  8. A Psychotic Waltz
  9. Only In A Dream
  10. Spiral Tower
  11. Strange
  12. Nothing
  • Buddy Lackey
  • Brian McAlpin
  • Dan Rock
  • Ward Evans
  • Norm Leggio
1990 Readers' Album #47

Into The Everflow  
1992 Dream Circle
  1. Ashes
  2. Out of Mind
  3. Tiny Streams
  4. Into the Everflow
  5. Little People
  6. Hanging On A String
  7. Freakshow
  8. Butterfly
  • Buddy Lackey
  • Brian McAlpin
  • Dan Rock
  • Ward Evans
  • Norm Leggio
1992 Readers' Album #52

1994 independent
  1. Mosquito
  2. Lovestone Blind
  3. Haze One
  4. Shattered Sky
  5. Cold
  6. All The Voices
  7. Dancing In The Ashes
  8. Only Time
  9. Locked Down
  10. Mindsong
  11. Darkness
  • Buddy Lackey
  • Brian McAlpin
  • Dan Rock
  • Phil Cuttino
  • Norm Leggio

1996 independent
  1. Faded
  2. Locust
  3. Morbid
  4. Bleeding
  5. Need
  6. Drift
  7. Northern Lights
  8. Sleep
  9. My Grave
  10. Skeleton
  11. Freedom?
  • Buddy Lackey
  • Brian McAlpin
  • Dan Rock
  • Phil Cuttino
  • Norm Leggio
1996 Readers' Album #87

Live And Archives  
1998 Institute Arts

A Social Grace + Mosquito  BOXED SET
2004 Metal Blade
  1. CD 1: A Social Grace
  2. CD 2: Mosquito
  3. CD 3: A Social Grace release party DVD

Into The Everflow + Bleeding  BOXED SET
2004 Metal Blade
  1. CD 1: Into the Everflow
  2. CD 2: Bleeding
  3. CD 3: Aslan demo + Into the Everflow

Copyright © 1995-2019 BNR Productions