Origin: Chicago, Illinois, USA  
Genres: Power Metal
Official Site
Page online: July 14, 2005
Last update/review: April 4, 2020


A study in perseverance, Rival was formed in 1990 and released a self-financed EP a year later, but waited nine years before putting out a full-length album (also self-financed) and three more years before finally getting a record contract, signing with Metal Blade and releasing State Of Mind in 2004. For fans of classic 80's-inspired American traditional metal, State Of Mind delivers, with very little in the way of modern influences (save an excellent production) but full of biting riffs, solid drumming, and gruff yet forceful vocals. The band again went into hibernation (recording-wise) as it would be another 14 years before the same quartet released another album, Prophecy in 2018.

Current Members

John Johnson

bass/vocals (ex-Sacred Warrior)

Chuck McNulty


Neven Trivic


Gary Olson



Rival  EP
1991 self-released
  1. Strangler
  2. V.O.D.
  3. Cry Out
  4. The Last Rebellion
  5. Beast Of The Knight
  • John Johnson
  • Chuck McNulty
  • Neven Trivic
  • Gary Olson

Modern World  
2000 self-released
  1. Modern World
  2. Half Alive
  3. Death Stalker
  4. Tides Of Fate
  5. Evil Within
  6. Euthanasia
  7. In Silence
  8. Out Of Line
  9. The Chosen
  • John Johnson
  • Chuck McNulty
  • Neven Trivic
  • Gary Olson

State Of Mind  
2004 Metal Blade
  1. State Of Mind
  2. Extreme Aggression
  3. Reach
  4. Insane
  5. Tyrant
  6. Brink
  7. Remember You
  8. Lord Of The Knight
  9. Hell Train
  • John Johnson
  • Chuck McNulty
  • Neven Trivic
  • Gary Olson

2018 independent
  1. Retaliation
  2. Vigilante
  3. Black Widow
  4. Prophecy
  5. Paralyzed
  6. Blind Fury
  7. About You
  8. Crash and Burn
  • John Johnson
  • Chuck McNulty
  • Neven Trivic
  • Gary Olson

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions