Origin: Hamburg, Germany  
Genres: Hard Rock
Page online: July 29, 2005
Last update/review: October 25, 2019

Velvet Viper

Velvet Viper was essentially the continuation of Zed Yago, a German band who had a reasonably successful run in the late eighties. That band disbanded some time after their 1988 Pilgrimage album, but the record label wanted more, and so leader/singer Jutta Weinhold recruited a new lineup and Velvet Viper was born. Two albums were released in the early nineties, with the style being anthemic Germanic metal similar to Zed Yago. Upon their breakup in 1993, bassist Lars Ratz went on to form Metalium, and Jutta pursued a solo career for a time, before eventually putting together a new lineup in 2017.

Current Members

Jutta Weinhold

vocals (ex-Zed Yago)

Holgar Marx


Fabian Ranft


Micha Fromm


Former Members/Guests

Peter Szigeti

guitars (ex-U.D.O., ex-Warlock)

David Moore


Roy Last


Lars Ratz

bass (Metalium, ex-Viva)

Uwe Seemann (guest)


Corvin Bahn (guest)


Franco Zuccaroli


Bubi (Claus Reinholdt)

drums (ex-Zed Yago) RIP: January 2, 2018, age 59

Michael Ehré (guest)



Velvet Viper  
  1. Merlin
  2. Brainsuckers: Tommyknockers
  3. Perceval
  4. HM Rebels
  5. Parsifal
  6. Millstone Of Rage
  7. Hammerhouse
  8. World Behind The World
  9. Icebreaker
  10. King Arthur
  11. Lost Children
  12. Ring Of Stonehenge
  • Jutta Weinhold
  • Peter Szigeti
  • David Moore
  • Lars Ratz
  • Franco Zuccaroli

The 4th Quest For Fantasy  
  1. The Valkyrie
  2. Savage Dream
  3. Highland Queen
  4. Modern Knights
  5. Mother Of All Voices
  6. Forefather
  7. Stella
  8. Ancient Warriors
  9. Horsewoman
  10. Valkyries
  11. Trojan War
  • Jutta Weinhold
  • Roy Last
  • Lars Ratz
  • Bubi

Respice Finem  
2018 GMR
  1. Don't Leave Before Wintertime
  2. Shadow Ryche
  3. Respice Finem
  4. Fraternize with Rats
  5. Eternally Onwards
  6. Ogaydez
  7. Dangerous
  8. Raven Evermore
  9. Stormy Birth
  10. Law of Rock
  11. Loherangrin - Lohengrin
  • Jutta Weinhold
  • Holgar Marx
  • Uwe Seemann
  • Corvin Bahn
  • Michael Ehré

The Pale Man Is Holding A Broken Heart  
2019 Massacre
  1. Things Behind
  2. Götterdämmerung
  3. All By Yourself
  4. One-Eyed Ruler
  5. Samson And Delilah
  6. Confuse And Satisfy
  7. Something Is Rotten
  8. Keep Your Head Up
  9. Hide Your Fire
  10. The Wheel Has Come Full Circle
  11. One Day (digipak CD bonus track)
  • Jutta Weinhold
  • Holgar Marx
  • Fabian Ranft
  • Micha Fromm

Copyright © 1995-2020 BNR Productions