Origin: Trondheim, Norway  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Page online: November 21, 2002
Last update/review: September 18, 2017


Hailing from Norway and originally formed in 1988, Atrox is one of the most unique bands to grace these pages in some time. Musically, they are somewhat of a spacey, jazzy, prog metal hybrid, with a rather odd style that is hard to pin down, yet is often quite fascinating to listen to. Vocally, they are even more bizarre. Those into The 3rd And The Mortal might notice a similarity between TATM's Ann-Mari and Atrox's Monika, and it's no coincidence -- they are sisters, and definitely share a passion for avant-garde jazzy singing. Monika is even more experimental and out-there than Ann-Mari, ranging from graceful melodies to squeals and warbles, she's sometimes enchanting, sometimes intriguing, and occasionally just a bit too much -- there's never a dull moment when she's singing. Atrox is clearly not a band for everyone -- even with a conventional vocalist they are odd and different and not an easy listen, and then there will be some that will love the music but just not be able to handle Monika's over-the-top singing. But those into left-field metal acts will definitely find something of interest here, as Atrox is a challenging and fascinating band, and certainly a BNR recommendation.

In March 2004, Monika announced her amicable departure from the band, as she wished to pursue a different musical direction. Since then, a new lineup has stabilized as the band forges ahead.

Current Members

Rune Folgerø


Eivind Fjoseide

guitars (Manes)

Rune Sørgård


Erik Paulsen


Per Spjøtvold


Tor-Arne Helgesen


Former Members/Guests

Monika Edvardsen


Geie Tore Johansen


Dag Rune Øyan


Ole Marius Larmerud


Tommy Sebastian Halseth

bass (ex-Godsend, ex-Griffin, ex-Manes)

Hinste Hirbe (guest)


Peter Beck

bass (ex-Griffin)

Lars Halvard Søndrol



1997 Head Not Found
  1. Intro
  2. Steeped in Misery as I am
  3. Wave
  4. The Ocean
  5. A Minds Escape
  6. Flower Meadow
  7. The Air Shed Tears
  8. Hinc Allae la Crimae
  • Monika Edvardsen
  • Geie Tore Johansen
  • Eivind Fjoseide
  • Rune Sørgård
  • Dag Rune Øyan
  • Tommy Sebastian Halseth
  • Lars Halvard Søndrol

2000 Season Of Mist
  1. Sultry
  2. Unsummoned
  3. Lizard Dance
  4. Panta Rei
  5. Gather In Me No More
  6. Ignoramus
  7. Letters To Earth
  8. Serenity
  9. Homage
  10. What Crawls Underneath
  11. Torture
  12. Outro
  • Monika Edvardsen
  • Eivind Fjoseide
  • Rune Sørgård
  • Hinste Hirbe
  • Tor-Arne Helgesen

2002 Season Of Mist
  1. Lay
  2. Ruin
  3. Mare's Nest
  4. Nine Wishes
  5. Human inventions
  6. Mental Nomads
  7. Changeling
  8. The Bedam of the Beldam
  9. Translunaria
  10. Look Further
  • Monika Edvardsen
  • Eivind Fjoseide
  • Rune Sørgård
  • Tor-Arne Helgesen

2003 Code666
  1. Methods of Survival
  2. Flesh City
  3. Heartquake
  4. Burning Bridges
  5. This vigil
  6. Tentacles
  7. Secondhand Traumas
  8. Pre-sense
  • Monika Edvardsen
  • Eivind Fjoseide
  • Ole Marius Larmerud
  • Peter Beck
  • Tor-Arne Helgesen

2008 Season Of Mist
  1. Retroglazed
  2. No Coil for Tesla
  3. Traces
  4. Headrush Helmet
  5. Filthmonger
  6. Orgone
  7. Tight Tie
  8. Binocular
  9. Castle for Clowns
  10. Transportal
  • Rune Folgerø
  • Eivind Fjoseide
  • Rune Sørgård
  • Erik Paulsen
  • Per Spjøtvold
  • Tor-Arne Helgesen

2017 Dark Essence
  1. Mass
  2. Vacuum
  3. Heat
  4. Finger
  5. Suicide Days
  6. For We Are Many
  7. Movie
  8. Target
  • Rune Folgerø
  • Eivind Fjoseide
  • Rune Sørgård
  • Erik Paulsen
  • Per Spjøtvold
  • Tor-Arne Helgesen

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions