Origin: Switzerland  
Official Site YouTube Facebook
Last update/review: April 21, 2008

Celtic Frost

An enormously influential band in the field of black/occult metal, Celtic Frost arose from the ashes of Hellhammer, with founder Tom Warrior realizing that his prior band had reached its musical limits and a direction change was necessary. The essence of Celtic Frost is best captured in the first three albums, with Morbid Tales being the most raw, Pandemonium the most experimental (and BNR favorite), and To Mega Therion being the most consistent and probably the best representation of the band's style. But Warrior, never one to rest on his laurels, made another style change, one that would prove costly. 1988's Cold Lake was almost universally regarded as a huge mistake, reviled by fans, the curious mixture of the early brutality and glam metal (!) proved to be disastrously unpopular, as the band's popularity plummeted and wouldn't fully rise again for many years. Two years later, the band attempted to rectify that mistake with Vanity/Nemesis, and it partially succeeded, as it is an underrated album that managed to capture much of the early style while still pressing forward. Finally in 1992 came the Parched ... album, a collection of greatest hits, unreleased tracks, some re-recorded versions of previous tracks (some Cold Lake songs sounded much better the second time around) and two new tracks that was presumed to be a preview for a new album, but it was not to be, as Tom formally folded Celtic Frost to form another new band, Apollyon Sun. Despite the rollercoaster waves of popularity, Celtic Frost remains one of the most unique and influential bands of the mid-eighties.

Apollyon Sun ran its course, but speculation and rumors of a CF reunion continued to fly over the years, and around 2003 the rumors finally came through. Original members Tom Warrior and Martin Ain, originally along with Tom's friend and fellow guitarist Erol Unala, started work on what is surely one of the most anticipated comeback albums in many years. The album, Monotheist, was finally completed and released in May 2006, a fitting return to form for the band.

Just when things were continuing to surge for the band, Tom walked away from the project, effectively closing the books on Celtic Frost (he has only said he left the group, but as he is the main force behind the band, it seems inconceivable that a new Celtic Frost could exist without him). Tom has vowed to continue making music in the new CF vein, and is doing so with his new band, Triptykon.

Last Lineup

Tom Warrior (Thomas G. Fischer)

vocals/guitars (ex-Apollyon Sun, ex-Hellhammer, Triptykon)

Erol Unala

guitars (ex-Apollyon Sun)

Martin Ain

bass (ex-Hellhammer) RIP: October 21, 2017, heart attack, age 50

Franco Sesa


Former Members/Guests

Curt Bryant


Oliver Amberg


Dominic Steiner


Steve Priestly


Reed St. Mark

drums (ex-Mindfunk)


Morbid Tales  
1984 Noise
  1. Into The Crypt Of Rays
  2. Visions Of Mortality
  3. Dethroned Emperor
  4. Morbid Tales
  5. Procreation (Of The Wicked)
  6. Return To The Eve
  7. Danse Macabre
  8. Nocturnal Fear
  • Tom Warrior
  • Martin Ain
  • Steve Priestly
1984 Readers' Album #7

Emperor's Return  EP
1985 Noise
  1. Circle Of The Tyrants
  2. Dethroned Emperor
  3. Morbid Tales
  4. Visual Aggression
  5. Suicidal Winds
  • Tom Warrior
  • Martin Ain
  • Reed St. Mark

To Mega Therion  
1985 Noise
  1. Innocence And Wrath
  2. Jewel Throne
  3. The Usurper
  4. Dawn Of Megiddo
  5. Eternal Summer
  6. Circle Of The Tyrants
  7. (Beyond The) North Winds
  8. Fainted Eyes
  9. Tears In A Prophet's Dream
  10. Necromantical Screams
  • Tom Warrior
  • Dominic Steiner
  • Reed St. Mark
1985 Readers' Album #5

(EP Tragic Serenades  
1986 Noise
  1. The Usurper
  2. Jewel Throne
  3. Return To The Eve (Party Mix)
  • Tom Warrior
  • Martin Ain
  • Reed St. Mark

Into The Pandemonium  
1987 Noise
  1. Mexican Radio
  2. Mesmerized
  3. Inner Sanctum
  4. Tristesses De La Lune
  5. Babylon Fell (Jade Serpent)
  6. Caress Into Oblivion
  7. One In Their Pride
  8. I Won't Dance (The Elder's Orient)
  9. Sorrows Of The Moon
  10. Rex Irae (Requiem: Overture - Fourth Version)
  11. Oriental Masquerade
  • Tom Warrior
  • Martin Ain
  • Reed St. Mark
1987 Readers' Album #10

Cold Lake  
1988 Noise
  1. Human (Intro)
  2. Seduce Me Tonight
  3. (Once) They Were Eagles
  4. Petty Obsession
  5. Cherry Orchards
  6. Juices Like Wine
  7. Little Velvet
  8. Blood On Kisses
  9. Downtown Hanoi
  10. Dance Sleazy
  11. Roses Without Thorns
  12. Tease Me
  • Tom Warrior
  • Curt Bryant
  • Oliver Amberg
  • Steve Priestly

1990 Noise
  1. The Heart Beneath
  2. Wine In My Hand
  3. Wings Of Solitude
  4. The Name Of My Bride
  5. This Island Earth
  6. The Restless Seas
  7. Phallic Tantrum
  8. A Kiss Or A Whisper
  9. Vanity
  10. Nemesis
  11. Heroes
  • Tom Warrior
  • Curt Bryant
  • Martin Ain
  • Steve Priestly
1990 Readers' Album #26

Parched With Thirst Am I And Dying  
1992 Noise
  1. Idols Of Chagrin
  2. A Descent To Babylon (Babylon Asleep)
  3. Return To The Eve
  4. Juices Like Wine
  5. The Inevitable Factor
  6. The Hearth Beneath
  7. Cherry Orchards
  8. Tristesses De La Lune
  9. Wings Of Solitude
  10. The Usurper
  11. Journey Into Fear
  12. Downtown Hanoi
  13. Circle Of The Tyrants
  14. In The Chapel In The Moonlight
  15. I Won't Dance
  16. The Name Of My Bride
  17. Mexican Radio
  18. Under Upollyon's Sun
  • Tom Warrior
  • Curt Bryant
  • Martin Ain
  • Steve Priestly
1992 Readers' Album #44

2006 Century Media
  1. Progeny
  2. Ground
  3. A Dying God Coming Into Human Flesh
  4. Drown In Ashes
  5. Os Abysmi Vel Daath
  6. Obscured
  7. Domain of Decay
  8. Ain Elohim
  9. Totengott
  10. Synagoga Satanae
  11. Winter (Requiem, Chapter Three: Finale)
  • Tom Warrior
  • Erol Unala
  • Martin Ain
  • Franco Sesa
2006 Readers' Album #6

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions