Origin: Santa Monica, California, USA  
Genres: Crossover
Page online: May 27, 2004
Last update/review: October 20, 2021

Cryptic Slaughter

Cryptic Slaughter was one of the most well-known of the called crossover bands of the 80's, mixing thrash and hardcore in a matter quite different than the metalcore trend of more recent times. The three albums released from 1986 to 1988 are still regarded as cult classics and influential in the field, clearly more hardcore than traditional metal but nevertheless finding quite a following among metal fans. The band split up shortly after their third album (Stream Of Consciousness), with guitarist Les Evans eventually moving from California to Oregon and recruiting an all-new lineup. That lineup released Speak Your Peace in 1990, but again the band broke up, with the original lineup coming back together a decade later, eventually releasing an EP in 2003 before once again disbanding. Another reformation, with a largely new lineup, came together in 2021 and a new album is slated for 2022. Original bassist Rob Nicholson is notable for appearing in a few other bands over the years (Rob Zombie, Drown), including a short stint with Ozzy Osbourne.

Current Members

Brad Mowen

vocals (ex-The Accused)

Les Evans


Matt Olivo

guitars (ex-Mirror, Repulsion)

Menno Verbaten


Scott Peterson


Former Members/Guests

Bill Crooks


Dave Hollingsworth


Rob Nicholson

bass (ex-Drown, ex-Ozzy Osbourne, Rob Zombie)

Bret Davis


Brian Lehfeldt

drums (Wehrmacht)


1986 Metal Blade
  1. M.A.D.
  2. Little World
  3. Sudden Death
  4. Lowlife
  5. Rage To Kill
  6. Rest In Pain
  7. Nuclear Future
  8. State Control
  9. Hypocrite
  10. War To The Knife
  11. Nation Of Hate
  12. Black And White
  13. Reich Of Torture
  14. Convicted
  • Bill Crooks
  • Les Evans
  • Rob Nicholson
  • Scott Peterson

Money Talks  
1987 Metal Blade
  1. Money Talks
  2. Set Your Own Pace
  3. Could Be Worse
  4. Wake Up
  5. Freedom Of Expression?
  6. Menace To Mankind
  7. Too Much, Too Little
  8. Human Contrast
  9. Tables Are Turned
  10. Positively
  11. All Wrong
  12. American Heroes
  • Bill Crooks
  • Les Evans
  • Rob Nicholson
  • Scott Peterson

Stream Of Consciousness  
1988 Metal Blade
  1. Circus Of Fools
  2. Aggravated
  3. Last Laugh
  4. Overcome
  5. Deteriorate
  6. See Through You
  7. Just Went Black
  8. Drift
  9. Altered Visions
  10. Addiction
  11. One Last Thought
  • Bill Crooks
  • Les Evans
  • Rob Nicholson
  • Scott Peterson

Speak Your Peace  
1990 Metal Blade
  1. Born Too Soon
  2. Still Born, Again
  3. Insanity By Numbers
  4. Co-Exist
  5. Deathstyles Of The Poor And Lonely
  6. One Thing Or Another
  7. Divided Minds
  8. Speak Your Piece
  9. Killing Time
  • Dave Hollingsworth
  • Les Evans
  • Bret Davis
  • Brian Lehfeldt

Band In S.M.  EP
2003 Relapse
  1. Banned In D.C. (Bad Brains cover)
  2. Out of Step (Minor Threat cover)
  3. Guilty of Being White (Minor Threat cover)
  4. Bombs (Attitude Adjustment cover)
  5. Wipe Out (The Surfaris cover)
  6. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (to Party) (Beastie Boys cover)
  7. Stray Cat Blues (Rolling Stones cover)
  8. Alcohol (Gang Green cover)
  9. (I`m Not Your) Stepping Stone (The Monkees cover)
  • Bill Crooks
  • Les Evans
  • Rob Nicholson
  • Scott Peterson

  1. Flesh of the Wench
  2. Necessity Supreme
  3. Life in Grave
  4. War to the Knife
  5. Rest in Pain
  6. The Third of the Storms
  7. Life in Grave
  8. Welcome to Hell
  9. Lowlife
  10. Human Contrast
  11. All Wrong
  12. Set our own Peace
  13. Reich of Torture
  14. Little World
  15. (I'm not your) Steppin' Stone
  16. Black and White
  17. Positively
  18. Freedom of Expression
  19. M.A.D.

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions