Origin: Stockholm, Sweden  
Genres: Death Metal
Last update/review: June 30, 2017


Desultory was part of the first wave of Swedish death metal bands, alongside Entombed, Dismember, and others. Into Eternity, their Metal Blade debut following a lesser-known EP release, is standard for the genre, energetic and forceful, straddling the line between the more brutal American death style and the melodic Gothenburg variety. By most accounts, the followup, Bitterness, is more of the same, but 1996's Swallow The Snake is quite a different animal, dropping the death vocals (and, for the most part, death metal itself), for a more heavy rock sound likened by some to Soundgarden. Having been dropped by Metal Blade, they disappeared, but the three members from the Snake album recruited a new fourth member and, continuing the progression from Snake, continued on as the heavy/stoner metal act Zebulon. Finally, in early 2009, the entire Zebulon lineup rechristened themselves as the new Desultory, releasing a comeback album (Counting Our Scars) a year later, returning to their death metal roots. Their final album (the band made the announcement before the release) was Through Aching Aeons in 2017.

Last Lineup

Klas Morberg

vocals/guitars (ex-Zebulon)

Håkan Morberg

guitars (ex-Zebulon)

Johan Bohlin

bass (Unanimated, ex-Zebulon)

Thomas Johnson

drums (ex-Zebulon)

Former Members/Guests

Stefan Pöge

lead guitar

Jens Almgren



Forever Gone  EP
1992 Carnage
  1. Forever Gone
  2. Depression
  3. Visions
  4. Passed Away
  5. The Chill Within
  6. Death Unfolds
  • Klas Morberg
  • Stefan Pöge
  • Jens Almgren
  • Thomas Johnson

Into Eternity  
1993 Metal Blade
  1. Into Eternity
  2. Depression
  3. Tears
  4. The Chill Within
  5. Visions
  6. Twisted Emotions
  7. Forever Gone
  8. Passed Away
  9. Sleep
  • Klas Morberg
  • Stefan Pöge
  • Håkan Morberg
  • Thomas Johnson
1993 Readers' Album #72

1994 Metal Blade
  1. Life Shatters
  2. Left Behind
  3. A Closing Eye
  4. Taste Of Tragedy
  5. Bleeding
  6. Among Mortals
  7. Enslaved
  8. Winter
  9. Cold Bitterness
  • Klas Morberg
  • Stefan Pöge
  • Håkan Morberg
  • Thomas Johnson

Swallow The Snake  
1996 Metal Blade
  1. Mushroom Smile
  2. The Bitter Man
  3. Before Today, Beyond Tomorrow
  4. Swallow The Snake
  5. In My Veins
  6. Blizzard In My Blood
  7. Zone Traveller
  8. Beneath
  9. King Of The Valley And The Western Sky
  10. Nothing Dies
  11. Silent Suffering
  • Klas Morberg
  • Håkan Morberg
  • Thomas Johnson

Counting Our Scars  
  1. In A Cage
  2. Counting Our Scars
  3. Ready To Bleed
  4. This Broken Halo
  5. The Moment Is Gone
  6. Uneven Numbers
  7. Dead Ends
  8. Leeching Life
  9. A Crippling Heritage
  • Klas Morberg
  • Håkan Morberg
  • Johan Bohlin
  • Thomas Johnson

Through Aching Aeons  
  1. Silent Rapture
  2. Spineless Kingdom
  3. Through Aching Aeons
  4. In This Embrace
  5. Beneath the Bleeding Sky
  6. Slither
  7. Divine Blindness
  8. Breathing the Ashes
  9. Our Departure
  • Klas Morberg
  • Håkan Morberg
  • Johan Bohlin
  • Thomas Johnson

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions