Origin: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA  
Genres: Progressive Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: November 22, 2015

Fountain Of Tears

Fountain Of Tears brought together several members from various Christian metal bands including Believer, Sardonyx, and Sacrament. Their 1999 self-titled debut is an excellent offering, the style being sort of a laidback progressive metal/hard rock, with a pretty unique sound. The keyboards (largely piano-based) lend a classy air to the songs, and Anna DeRose's vocals are in top form, as is the musicianship overall. The presentation here is interesting -- consisting first of five songs (four sung by DeRose, a fifth with spoken female narration), followed by the same five songs as pure instrumentals. While this style might be a bit light for traditional metal listeners, Fountain Of Tears is actually quite professsional and very enjoyable and recommended. They went into remission for a number of years while searching for a vocalist replacement for DeRose, finally settling on Vonnie King, who featured on their sophomore album Fate in 2007. Since then they've been quite, and are likely no more.

Last Lineup

Vonnie King


Mike DiDonato

guitars (ex-Sacrament)

Erik Ney

bass (ex-Sacrament)

Jeff King

keyboards (Believer, ex-Sardonyx)

Joey Daub

drums (Believer)

Former Members/Guests

Anna DeRose



Fountain Of Tears  
1999 independent
  1. Survive
  2. She Wants To Be
  3. The Sleeper
  4. Carousel
  5. Real
  6. Survive ()
  7. She Wants To Be ()
  8. The Sleeper ()
  9. Carousel ()
  10. Real ()
  • Anna DeRose
  • Mike DiDonato
  • Erik Ney
  • Jeff King
  • Joey Daub

2007 independent
  1. Weeping Sky
  2. Corruption
  3. Falling
  4. What Lies Ahead
  5. Forever Lost
  6. Desire
  7. A Descent Into the Maelstrom
  8. With My Fears
  9. Ten
  10. Entropy
  11. Jasmine
  12. Fate
  • Vonnie King
  • Mike DiDonato
  • Erik Ney
  • Jeff King
  • Joey Daub

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions