Origin: Sweden  
Genres: Death Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: January 30, 2010


Hearse is the second of Johan Liiva's bands that he has participated in following his departure from Arch Enemy (the other being Nonexist). Here he teams up with his old pal Max Thornell, who played with Liiva in a band called Furbowl in the early nineties. Armageddon, Mon Amour, the band's second album, is best described as Swedish death metal with some melodic edges, but not the In Flames cloning that the phrase "Swedish melodic death metal" usually implies. There's a fair bit of the Entombed-style death'n'roll style here, along with a few more uptempo songs and even some heavy stoner groove ("Ticket To Devastation") as well. Liiva, as usual, is up to the task, displaying a bit more depth than in the past, but still with plenty of conviction. Hearse does a good job borrowing from several genres to forge a decently unique sound -- certainly fans of Liiva's other bands will probably enjoy this band as well.

Current Members

Johan Liiva

vocals/bass (ex-Arch Enemy, ex-Carnage, ex-Nonexist)

Mattias Ljung


Max Thornell



Dominion Reptilian  
2002 Hammerheart
  1. Dominion Reptilian
  2. Torch
  3. Cosmic Daughter
  4. Contemplation
  5. Rapture in Twilight
  6. Well of Youth
  7. Abandoned
  8. End of Days
  9. So Vague
  10. The Unknown*
  11. Avalon*
  • Johan Liiva
  • Mattias Ljung
  • Max Thornell

Armageddon Mon Amour  
2004 Karmageddon Media
  1. Mountain of the Solar Eclipse
  2. Turncoat
  3. Crops of Waste
  4. In Love and War
  5. Ticket to Devastation
  6. Tools
  7. Cambodia
  8. Sodi
  9. Play Without Rules
  10. Determination
  11. Armageddon, Mon Amour
  • Johan Liiva
  • Mattias Ljung
  • Max Thornell

Cambodia  EP
2005 Karmageddon Media
  1. Cambodia
  2. The Accused
  3. Wheels of Misfortune
  4. Torch (7" version)
  5. Avalon (7" version)
  6. Well of Youth (demo version)
  7. Raptured in Twilight (demo version)
  8. Dominion Reptilian (demo version)
  9. So Vague (demo version)
  • Johan Liiva
  • Mattias Ljung
  • Max Thornell

The Last Ordeal  
2005 Karmageddon Media
  1. Pathfinder
  2. Quintessence Real Audio
  3. Shackles of Guilt
  4. Ambrosia
  5. Una Lucha a Muerte
  6. Bountyhunter
  7. Demon Curd
  8. Aggravation
  9. The Last Ordeal
  • Johan Liiva
  • Mattias Ljung
  • Max Thornell

In These Veins  
2006 Dental
  1. House Of Love
  2. Corroding Armour
  3. Intoxication
  4. Naked Truth
  5. Crusade
  6. Among The Forlorn
  7. Atrocious Recoil
  8. Hearse
  9. In These Veins
  10. Mayfly Euphoria (Japan bonus track)
  • Johan Liiva
  • Mattias Ljung
  • Max Thornell

Single Ticket To Paradise  
2009 Vic
  1. Intro
  2. Misanthropic Charades
  3. Sundown
  4. The Moth
  5. An Emotional Fraud
  6. Single Ticket to Paradise
  7. The Ferocious Embrace
  8. Degeneration X
  9. Your Purgatory
  • Johan Liiva
  • Mattias Ljung
  • Max Thornell

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions