Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Last update/review: February 2, 2015


With two Metal Massacre tracks and a major label contract under their belts, the Los Angeles (by way of Portland, Oregon) band Malice seemed destined for stardom. The band had a strong Judas Priest influence, thanks in no small part to James Neal's standout vocals, and their style seemed tailor-made for the growing 80's metal scene. For whatever reason, though, the band never made it to the upper echelon of metal, their two albums for Atlantic Records garnering respectable reviews and fan support but never pushing them over the edge. After being dropped from Atlantic, a final EP was released on Metal Blade Records and after that the band disappeared, not to be heard from again for well over a decade. In October 2006 came word that the band was back in action, featuring three of the original five along with a new drummer and vocalist. Several years after that the lineup stabilized, and with respected new singer James Rivera at the mic, the long-awaited comeback album, New Breed Of Godz, was released in 2012.

Current Members

James Rivera

vocals (ex-Distant Thunder, ex-Destiny's End, Helstar, Killing Machine, ex-Seven Witches, ShadowKeep, ex-Vicious Rumors)

Jay Reynolds

guitars (ex-Metal Church)

Robert Cardenas

bass (Masters Of Metal, ex-Possessed)

Pete Holmes


Former Members/Guests

James Neal


Mick Zane (Michael Landauer)

guitars RIP: December 23, 2016, cancer, age 57

Mark Behn


Clifford Carothers



In The Beginning ...  
1985 Atlantic
  1. Rockin' With You
  2. Into The Ground
  3. Air Attack
  4. Stellar Masters
  5. Tarot Dealer
  6. Squeeze It Dry
  7. Hellrider
  8. No Haven For The Raven
  9. Unwanted
  10. Godz Of Thunder
  • James Neal
  • Jay Reynolds
  • Mick Zane
  • Mark Behn
  • Clifford Carothers

Licenced To Kill  
1987 Atlantic
  1. Sinister Double
  2. License To Kill
  3. Against The Empire
  4. Vigilante
  5. Chain Gang Woman
  6. Christine
  7. Murder
  8. Breathin' Down Your Neck
  9. Circle Of Fire
  • James Neal
  • Jay Reynolds
  • Mick Zane
  • Mark Behn
  • Clifford Carothers

Crazy In The Night  EP
1989 Metal Blade
  1. Captive of Light
  2. Vice Versa
  3. Crazy in the Night
  4. Death or Glory
  • James Neal
  • Jay Reynolds
  • Mick Zane
  • Mark Behn
  • Clifford Carothers

The Rare And Unreleased  COMPILATION
2008 Retrospect
  1. Captive of Light
  2. Kick You Down
  3. Vice Versa
  4. Crazy in the Night
  5. Death or Glory
  6. Trouble Shooter
  7. Dues Paid in Hell
  8. Cry Out to the Godz
  9. Rockin' With You
  10. Air Attack
  11. Stellar Masters
  12. Hellrider
  13. Godz of Thunder
  14. Murder
  15. No Haven For the Raven
  16. Vigilante
  17. Circle of Fire
  18. Jet Stream Cruiser

New Breed Of Godz  
2012 Steamhammer/SPV
  1. New Breed Of Godz
  2. Hell Rider
  3. Against The Empire
  4. Branded
  5. Sinister Double
  6. Circle Of Fire
  7. Stellar Masters
  8. Winds Of Death (Angel Of Light)
  9. Air Attack
  10. Chain Gang Woman
  11. Slipping Through The Cracks
  12. Godz Of Thunder
  • James Rivera
  • Jay Reynolds
  • Mick Zane
  • Mark Behn
  • Robert Cardenas
  • Pete Holmes

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions