Origin: USA  
Genres: Alternative Metal
Last update/review: March 24, 2003


Given the impressive pedigree of the band members, it seemed that Medication might be destined for greatness. Formed out of a friendship between Whitfield Crane (Ugly Kid Joe, late of Life Of Agony) and Logan Mader (Machine Head, Soulfly), a lineup was put together, and with a healthy underground buzz they set about touring and recording. They finally signed to the Locomotive label, a Spanish label specializing in old-school traditional metal (which Medication was not) and looking for an American band to grow with. After a self-titled EP came the much-anticipated full-length album, Prince Valium. With a definite modern groove and a hard-edged heavy alternative sound (every once an awhile an early, less dreary Alice In Chains comes to mind), the album got some good reviews and things seemed to be looking up. But in early 2003 it all fell apart, with a major tour cancelled in January followed by the announcement of their breakup soon after. At issue, it appears, was Locomotive's handling of the band, as they were probably ill-equipped to deal with a band like Medication. As one might expect, several of the members have been reported as working on new projects, one or more which might see the light of day later in 2003.

Last Lineup

Whitfield Crane


Logan Mader

guitars (ex-Machine Head, ex-Soulfly)


guitars (ex-dayinthelife ...)

Kyle Sanders

bass (Hellyeah, ex-Piece Dogs)

Former Members/Guests

Roy Mayorga

drums (Amebix, guest for Channel Zero, Hellyeah, Ministry, ex-Soulfly, Stone Sour, ex-Thorn)

Josh Freese (guest)

drums (ex-Static-X, ex-Suicidal Tendencies, guest for Wolfmother)


Medication  EP
2002 Locomotive
  1. Something New
  2. Underwater
  3. Inside
  4. No Direction
  5. Need To Never
  • Whitfield Crane
  • Logan Mader
  • Blunt
  • Kyle Sanders
  • Roy Mayorga

Prince Valium  
2002 Locomotive
  1. Loaded Gun
  2. Nothing Left
  3. Something New
  4. Walk Away
  5. No Direction
  6. Underground
  7. False Idol
  8. Xanax
  9. Super Pop
  • Whitfield Crane
  • Logan Mader
  • Blunt
  • Kyle Sanders
  • Josh Freese

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions