Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA  
Genres: 80's Metal
Page online: July 14, 2005
Last update/review: February 19, 2017


Formed in 1978 by basst Greg May (brother Glen was drafted in as a vocalist a couple of years later), Tyrant followed the route of many an 80's Los Angeles metal band by appearing on a Metal Massacre compilation (their track, "The Battle Of Armageddon", was one of the highlights of Metal Massacre III) and went on to record two albums on Metal Blade Records, displaying the typical Judas Priest-style power metal and leather/spikes image that was popular at the time. Little was heard from the band for several years following Too Late To Pray's release in 1987, but in the mid-nineties they gave it another go, releasing King Of Kings in 1996, and as of 2017 the band, with the three core members still present, are alive and kicking.

Current Members

Robert Lowe

vocals (ex-Candlemass, ex-Concept Of God, ex-Last Chapter, ex-Solitude Aeturnus)

Rocky Rockwell


Greg May


Ronnie Wallace


Former Members/Guests

Glen May


Rob Roy


G. Stanley Burtis


Tom Meadows



Legions Of The Dead  
1985 Metal Blade
  1. Warriors Of Metal
  2. Fall Into The Hands Of Evil
  3. The Battle Of Armageddon
  4. Legions Of The Dead
  5. Tyrant's Revelation
  6. Listen To The Preacher
  7. Knight Of Darkness
  8. Thru The Night
  9. Time Is Running Low
  10. Sacrifice
  • Glen May
  • Rocky Rockwell
  • Greg May
  • Rob Roy

Too Late To Pray  
1987 Metal Blade
  1. Too late to pray
  2. The nazarene
  3. Babylon
  4. Verdalack
  5. Beginning of the end
  6. The eve of destruction
  • Glen May
  • Rocky Rockwell
  • Greg May
  • G. Stanley Burtis

King Of Kings  
1996 Semaphore
  1. Tyrants revelation III
  2. King of kings
  3. Fast lane
  4. Dance with the devil
  5. Ancient fire
  6. No where to run
  7. Night falls
  8. Tighten the vice
  9. Coast to coast
  10. War
  • Glen May
  • Rocky Rockwell
  • Greg May
  • Tom Meadows

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions