Origin: Netherlands  
Page online: August 23, 2008
Last update/review: July 4, 2017

Agua De Annique

This is the solo band of Anneke van Giersbergen, formed shortly her rather sudden departure from The Gathering, resulting in Air, released in 2007. Given the direction of The Gathering in recent years, probably no one would expect this to be a metalfest, and it's not, though there are a few metallic traces, such as the guitar riffing in "You Are Nice" or the arty post-prog metal of "Witnesses" that might remind one of The Provenance. Much of Air instead focuses on Anneke's wondrous voice, always in top form, with mostly piano and acoustic backing. It's not a stretch to say that fans of later Gathering would find enough to enjoy here, though those desiring a more traditional metal sound might be disappointed.

Anneke retired the Agua De Annique name after two albums, though has continued to record under her name as a solo artist (strictly non-metal) and has also been involved with other bands with some metal aspects, namely The Gentle Storm and Vuur.

Current Members

Anneke Van Giersbergen

vocals/keyboards (ex-Devin Townsend Project, ex-The Gathering, Vuur)

Joris Dirks

guitars/backing vocals

Jacques De Haard


Rob Snijders

drums (ex-Celestial Season, ex-Kong)


2007 The End
  1. Beautiful One
  2. Witnesses
  3. Yalin
  4. Day After Yesterday
  5. My Girl
  6. Take Care of Me
  7. Ice Water
  8. You Are Nice
  9. Trail of Grief
  10. Come Wander
  11. Sunken Soldiers
  12. Lost and Found
  13. Asleep
  • Anneke Van Giersbergen
  • Joris Dirks
  • Jacques De Haard
  • Rob Snijders

In Your Room  
  1. Pearly
  2. Hey Okay!
  3. I Want
  4. Wonder
  5. The World
  6. Sunny Side Up
  7. Physical
  8. Home Again
  9. Wide Open
  10. Longest Day
  11. Just Fine
  12. Adore
  • Anneke Van Giersbergen
  • Joris Dirks
  • Jacques De Haard
  • Rob Snijders

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions