Origin: Poland  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Page online: October 31, 2010
Last update/review: October 31, 2010


One of a handful of early Polish thrash hopefuls, Astharoth formed in 1988 and gained enough of a local following to eventually record their only album, 1990's Gloomy Experiments. Soon after its release, the guitar duo of Jarek and Dorota decided to move to San Francisco, where they recruited new members and recorded several demos, but were never able to secure a new record deal and thus they broek up in 1994. The music on Gloomy Experiments is pretty uneven -- the band tackle a quite adventurous form of technical thrash, and there are quite a few good ideas scattered about, but this seems to be a case of a band biting off more than it could chew, as the musicianship (particularly the drumming) and production just didn't seem up to the task. This style of metal demands precision and tight playing, and it just wasn't there. Nevertheless, the band enjoyed a decent cult following during their six-year run, though major success wasn't in the cards for them.

Last Lineup

Jarek Tatarek


Dorota Homme


Witold Wirth


Dariusz Malysiak



Gloomy Experiments  
1990 Metal Master
  1. Gloomy Experiments
  2. Speed Of Light
  3. Obsession
  4. Tool Of Crime
  5. Amnesia
  6. Mirror's World
  7. Good Night My Dear
  8. Insomnia
  9. My Difference
  • Jarek Tatarek
  • Dorota Homme
  • Witold Wirth
  • Dariusz Malysiak

Lost Forever World  COMPILATION

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions