Origin: Netherlands  
Genres: 80's Metal
Last update/review: August 4, 2006


Bodine was an obscure Dutch band formed in the early eighties, a band that might be relegated to lost-and-forgotten status save for the fact that this was one of the early bands featuring one Arjen Lucassen, who later went on to greater things with the prog rock/metal band Ayreon, as well as Star One and other projects. As the story goes, Lucassen auditioned for the singer role in the band, with the real intent on joining the band as a second guitarist, which is precisely what he did. The band released three albums in all, breaking up in 1984 at least partially due to Lucassen accepting an offer to join another Dutch band by the name of Vengeance.

As it turns out, most of the above would be completely academic save for the fact that this was quite a good band, at least if Bold As Brass (the middle of their three albums) is to go by. Featuring a bluesy, rocky base combined with a healthy dose of the NWOBHM stylings of the day, Brass never really got a lot of publicity (at the time, it seemed very few had heard of the band or album) but might be considered a lost gem today.

Last Lineup

Axel Joseph Langemeijer


Rheno Xeros


Arjen Lucassen

guitars (Ayreon)

Armand Van Der Hoff


Gerard Haitsma


Former Members/Guests

Jay Van Feggelen



1981 WEA
  1. Rock Rosetta
  2. Back Street Crawler
  3. Freight Train
  4. Gonna Get Back
  5. You Didn't Give Me Love
  6. On The Look Out
  7. New york City Streets
  8. Oh Wee Baby
  9. Foggy Fantasy
  10. Shooting Dice
  • Jay Van Feggelen
  • Rheno Xeros
  • Armand Van Der Hoff
  • Gerard Haitsma

Bold As Brass  
1982 WEA
  1. Rock Machine
  2. Heavy Rain
  3. Aragorn
  4. Heavy Metal Heart
  5. Wild Fire Queen
  6. Pumplin' Iron
  7. Breakin' Out
  8. Regular rocker
  • Axel Joseph Langemeijer
  • Rheno Xeros
  • Arjen Lucassen
  • Armand Van Der Hoff
  • Gerard Haitsma

1983 WEA
  1. Shout
  2. Battlefield
  3. Black Star Rising
  4. Below The Belt
  5. The Force
  6. Hard Times
  7. Rampage
  8. Free Kick
  • Axel Joseph Langemeijer
  • Rheno Xeros
  • Arjen Lucassen
  • Armand Van Der Hoff
  • Gerard Haitsma

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions