Origin: Windsor, Canada  
Genres: Traditional Metal, Thrash Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: June 23, 2015


A Canadian indie band, Betrayer plays a thrashy version of traditional metal on Rusted Icons, their 2001 debut release, a style that at times brings to mind prime Megadeth, while at other times a more melodic, classic metal style is evident. There's a clear 80's vibe going on, without delving into dated worship or cloning -- this is neither contemporary nor really that unique, but it's a satisfying listen. They soon expanded to a quartet and released an EP in 2005 and a self-titled album in 2012, still as a self-financed band.

Current Members

Jeff Klingbeil


Bill Lozon


Shawn Bastien


Former Members/Guests

Norm Michaud



Rusted Icons  
2001 self-released
  1. Descendents of Death
  2. Fire to the Coals
  3. Tribulation
  4. Waiting
  5. Wretched Ways
  6. Captive State of Mind
  7. Sands of Time
  8. Rusted Icons
  • Jeff Klingbeil
  • Norm Michaud
  • Shawn Bastien

Shadowed Force  EP
  1. Partaker Of Evil
  2. Burden Of The Pacifist
  3. Shadowed Force
  • Jeff Klingbeil
  • Bill Lozon
  • Norm Michaud
  • Shawn Bastien

2012 self-released
  1. Beyond the Grave
  2. World of Misery
  3. Convicted Soul
  4. Innocence Forgotten
  5. Transformation
  6. Fire to the Coals
  7. Spirit of the Maker
  8. Love Is Pain
  9. Ages of Defiance
  10. New Horizons
  • Jeff Klingbeil
  • Bill Lozon
  • Norm Michaud
  • Shawn Bastien

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions