Origin: Toronto, Canada  
Genres: Traditional Metal
Page online: January 17, 2010
Last update/review: May 3, 2020


The entertaining Canadian cult metal band Goat Horn unfortunately broke up in 2006, but it wasn't long before mainmain Jason Decay and drummer Steelrider found a new guitarist and a new name, and thus Cauldron was born. While Goat Horn was more in the stoner rock camp, Cauldron takes a more traditional 80's metal stance, almost NWOBHM-ish at times, while retaining the not-to-be-taken-seriously lyrical approach of the Horn. The band has curiously found its way to the Earache label, certainly an atypical signing for them, but hopefully one that benefits both band and label.

Current Members

Jason Decay (Jason Junop)

vocals/bass (ex-Goat Horn)

Ian Chains (Ian Kilpatrick)


Myles Deck


Former Members/Guests

Steel Rider (Jason Mellish)

drums (ex-Goat Horn)

Chris Chartrand


Chris Stephenson

drums (guest for Skull Fist)


Into The Cauldron  EP
2007 self-released
  1. The Striker Strikes
  2. Into the Cauldron
  3. Restless
  4. Torture's too Kind
  • Jason Decay
  • Ian Chains
  • Steel Rider

Chained To The Nite  
2009 Earache
  1. Young and Hungry
  2. Conjure The Mass
  3. Chained Up in Chains
  4. The Leaven / Fermenting Enchantress
  5. Dreams Die Young
  6. Bound to the Stake
  7. Witch Trail
  8. Midnite Hour
  9. Chains Around Heaven
  • Jason Decay
  • Ian Chains
  • Chris Chartrand

Burning Fortune  
2011 Earache
  1. All or Nothing
  2. Miss You to Death
  3. Frozen in Fire
  4. Tears Have Come
  5. I Confess (Halloween (USA) cover)
  6. Rapid City/Unchained Assault
  7. Queen of Fire
  8. Breaking Through
  9. Taken by Desire
  • Jason Decay
  • Ian Chains
  • Chris Stephenson

Tomorrow's Lost  
2012 Earache
  1. End of Time
  2. Born to Struggle
  3. Nitebreaker
  4. Summoned to Succumb
  5. Burning Fortune
  6. Endless Ways
  7. Relentless Temptress
  8. Fight for Day
  9. Tomorrow's Lost (Sun Will Fall)
  • Jason Decay
  • Ian Chains
  • Chris Chartrand

Moonlight Desires  EP
  1. Moonlight Desires (Gowan cover)
  2. Sacrifice (Bathory cover)
  3. Iron Beast
  • Jason Decay
  • Ian Chains
  • Myles Deck

Live Over Lee's  VIDEO

In Ruin  
2016 The End
  1. No Return / In Ruin
  2. Empress
  3. Burning At Both Ends
  4. Hold Your Fire
  5. Come Not Here
  6. Santa Mira
  7. Corridors Of Dust
  8. Delusive Serenade
  9. Outrance
  • Jason Decay
  • Ian Chains
  • Myles Deck

New Gods  
2018 Dissonance
  1. Prisoner Of The Past
  2. Letting Go
  3. No longer
  4. Save The Truth - Syracuse
  5. Never Be Found
  6. Drown
  7. Together As None
  8. Isolation
  9. Last Request
  • Jason Decay
  • Ian Chains
  • Myles Deck

Undercover Of Moonlight  COMPILATION
2020 independent
  1. Paris Is Burning (Dokken cover)
  2. Rising Power (AC/DC cover)
  3. Take This Torch (Razor cover)
  4. Die Hard (Venom cover)
  5. Streetwalker (Buster Brown cover)
  6. Free Country (Witchfinder General cover)
  7. Moonlight Desires (Gowan cover)
  8. Iron Beast (Kratos cover)
  9. Sacrifice (Bathory cover)
  10. Necropolis (Manilla Road cover)
  11. Making Noise and Drinking Beer (Tyrant cover)
  12. Lay It on the Line (Triumph cover)
  13. Run to You (Bryan Adams cover)
  14. Fortress Doomed (Goat Horn cover)
  15. Jason Falling

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions