Origin: Canada  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Official Site
Last update/review: July 22, 2006


Canadian thrashers DBC (Dead Brain Cells) formed in 1986 and became one of Canada's leading thrash bands during the thrash boom of the late eighties. Their debut, Dead Brain Cells, released in 1987, was a solid, if a shade generic, thrash album for the day, with vocals verging on hardcore and a typical energetic speedy thrash style. Two years later came the followup, Universe, and by this time the band had clearly started to branch out, with a slower, yet more technical riffing style and science-based lyrical themes. To these years, Universe should have been a fine transition album, an album that, while not perfect, showed the right kind of growth such that the followup would really be something special. Unfortunately that third album would never materialize, as they were dropped from their record company in 1991 and folded later that year. The demos that might have comprised that third album were what was later released as Unreleased in 2002.

Last Lineup

Phil Dakin


Eddie Shahini


Gerry Ouellette

guitars RIP: November 12, 1994, age 30

Jeff St. Louis

drums RIP: December 22, 2019, age 61


Dead Brain Cells  
1987 Combat
  1. Deadlock
  2. Monument
  3. Lies
  4. Power & Corruption
  5. Tempest
  6. Public Suicide
  7. Negative Reinforcement
  8. Outburst
  9. M.I.A.
  10. Terrorist Mind
  11. The ViceTrauma X
  12. Final Act
  • Phil Dakin
  • Eddie Shahini
  • Gerry Ouellette
  • Jeff St. Louis

1989 Combat
  1. The Genesis Explosion
  2. Heliosphere
  3. Primordium
  4. Exit the Giants
  5. Rise of Man
  6. Estuary
  7. Humanity's Child
  8. Phobos & Deimos
  9. Threshold
  10. Infinite Universe
  • Phil Dakin
  • Eddie Shahini
  • Gerry Ouellette
  • Jeff St. Louis

2002 Galy
  1. Third Coming
  2. Brick by Brick
  3. Siren's Song
  4. Waste Not, Want More
  5. Rude Awakening
  6. Root to All Evil
  • Phil Dakin
  • Eddie Shahini
  • Gerry Ouellette
  • Jeff St. Louis

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions