Origin: Austria  
Genres: Black Metal
Official Site Facebook
Last update/review: January 30, 2010


Hollenthon is essentially a solo project for one Martin Shirenc, leader of the twisted cult death metal band Pungent Stench. Anyone expecting more Stench dementia is in for a shock, as while Hollenthon is an extreme metal band to be sure, simplistic shock value death metal is not to be found here. Instead, Shirenc has hatched an impressive project here, melding a black metal base with noticeable classical influences, ethnic stylings of various sorts, vocal styles ranging from black to female (courtesy of wife Elena) to male operatic (evoking a harder, meaner Therion), all thrown together without sounding like a mismatch of random influences. While the debut, Domus Mundi, is the more ethnic-flavored of the their two releases thus far, it's really With Vilest Of Worms To Dwell where Martin and friends shine -- released in 2001, it remains one of the best albums of the new millennium, simply a superb release. Shirenc put this project on hold while Pungent Stench was active, but with that band now done, he has refocused here, with a new album released in May 2008.

Current Members

Martin Schirenc

vocals/guitars/bass (ex-Pungent Stench)

Martin Arzberger




Michael Gröger


Elena Shirenc

backing vocals

Former Members/Guests

Gregor Marboe



Domus Mundi  
1999 Napalm
  1. Enrapture - Hinc Illae Lacrimae
  2. Homage - Magni Nominis Umbra
  3. Vestige - Non Omnis Moriar
  4. Lure - Pallida Mors
  5. Interlude - Ultima Ratio Regum
  6. Reprisal - Malis Avibus
  7. Premonition - Lex Talionis
  8. Eclipse - Vita Nova
  • Martin Schirenc
  • Michael Gröger
  • Elena Shirenc

With Vilest Of Worms To Dwell  
2001 Napalm
  1. Y Draig Goch
  2. Woe To The Defeated
  3. Lords Of Bedlam
  4. To Kingdom Come
  5. The Calm Before The Storm
  6. Fire Upon The Blade
  7. Conquest Demise
  8. Conspirator
  • Martin Schirenc
  • Michael Gröger
  • Elena Shirenc

Opus Magnum  
2008 Napalm
  1. Ars Moriendi
  2. Of Splendid Worlds
  3. Once We Were Kings
  4. To Fabled Lands
  5. Dying Embers
  6. Misterium Babel
  7. On The Wings Of A Dove
  8. Son Of Perdition
  9. The Bazaar (THE TEA PARTY cover) (limited edition only)
  10. Son Of Perdition (video) (limited edition only)
  • Martin Schirenc
  • Martin Arzberger
  • Gregor Marboe
  • Michael Gröger
2008 Readers' Album #58

Tyrants And Wraiths  EP
2009 Napalm
  1. Tyrants And Wraiths
  2. Innocent Sin
  3. Deathly Dirges
  4. Of Hollow Men
  • Martin Schirenc
  • Martin Arzberger
  • Gregor Marboe
  • Michael Gröger

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions