Origin: Minnesota, USA  
Genres: Thrash Metal
Last update/review: July 18, 2001

Kublai Khan

Kublai Khan was once promoted as "featuring ex-Megadeth guitarist Greg Handevidt", and indeed Handevidt was the original second guitarist in the band, having moved to California with high school friend Dave Ellefson and hooking up with Dave Mustaine shortly after Mustaine's departure from Metallica. Handevidt left after a few months, returned to Minnesota, and formed Kublai Khan. Not surprisingly, Annihilation does sound somewhat like early Megadeth -- though the production was a bit thin, the songs were energetic and interesting, really a pretty good album in its day. The band broke up within a year of the album's release. Bassist Mike Liska has played in various (non-metal?) local Minnesota bands over the years, and most recently has been in a band called Tim Mahoney And The Meenies.

Last Lineup

Greg Handevidt


Kevin Idso


Mike Liska


John Fedde



1987 New Renaissance
  1. Death Breath
  2. Mongrel Horde
  3. Down To The Inferno
  4. Liars Dice
  5. Passing Away
  6. Kublai Khan
  7. Clash Of The Swords
  8. Battle Hymn (The Centurian)
  • Greg Handevidt
  • Kevin Idso
  • Mike Liska
  • John Fedde

Copyright © 1995-2023 BNR Productions