Origin: Prague, Czechia  
Genres: Death Metal
Page online: June 17, 2009
Last update/review: June 17, 2009

Lykathea Aflame

This is kind of a lost gem here, an obscure album (Elvenefris) recorded in 2000 by a little-known Czech band, but one that is almost unanimously regarded as an underground masterpiece by those who have heard it. Lythathea Aflame blend brutal death metal and technical prowess like few others before or since, but also throw in an interesting middle-eastern influence, and on top of that, realize that the songs are as important as the sounds within. Special kudos have to go to drummer Tomas Corn, who's simply unbelievable, but leader Ptoe's guitar work similarly demands attention. There are riffs and tempo changes aplenty, but not quite as sudden or jarring as some tech bands who can't keep a song coherent. Suffice to say that this is one of the finest examples of brutal yet technical death metal ever done.

Recording-wise, Lykathea Aflame fell off the earth after Elvenefris. Later came word that Ptoe had put together a new version As late as 2007 there was still talk of recording an album, but since then information has been hard to come by.

Last Lineup

Petr Tománek


Ondra Martinek


Andy Maresh


Tomás Corn



  1. Land Where Sympathy Is Air
  2. To Become Shelter And Salvation
  3. Bringer Of Elvenefris Flame
  4. Flowering Entities
  5. To Give
  6. On The Way Home
  7. Shine Of Consolation
  8. Sadness And Strength
  9. A Step Closer
  10. An Old Man And A Child
  11. Walking In The Garden Of Ma'at
  • Petr Tománek
  • Ondra Martinek
  • Andy Maresh
  • Tomás Corn

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions