Origin: England  
Official Site Facebook YouTube
Last update/review: February 6, 2024

The Meads Of Asphodel

In the world of metal there are a few leaders, many followers, but then a few that aren't quite either -- bands that don't forge new trails so much as meander down their own unique paths, on their own terms. Such is the case of The Meads Of Asphodel, an odd but strangely compelling British outfit that in many respects simply defies description. The band was formed by vocalist/leader Metatron in 1998, and he, along with instrumentalist Jaldabaoth, formed the core of the band. They are often categorized as black metal (they have referred to themselves as "English Fucking Black Metal", though this is due more to spirit than to musical style), and at times their black roots are revealed, but they bear little similarity to the classic black metal style. The band has had close ties with space rock legends Hawkwind for some time, to the extent that Alan Davey and Huw Lloyd Langton are essentially full-time members here now, and Mirai from Sigh has lent his hand to the proceedings as well (another indication of the offbeat nature of this band). This is really one of those bands that one has to hear for him/herself, as they are clearly operating in their own world. Metatron and Jaldaboath split up several years ago, with Metatron carrying on here and Jaldaboath returning to his equally bizarre and interesting Ewigkeit project.

Recent album: Tomb Songs From A Dying Bedlamite, released on February 1, 2024.

Current Members



James Tait


Andre Kjelbergvik Thung


Former Members/Guests

Jaldaboath (James Fogarty)

guitars/keyboards (Ewigkeit, ex-In The Woods ..., Jaldaboath)

Lee Cornell


Huw Lloyd Langton (guest)

guitars RIP: December 6, 2012, cancer, age 61





Alan Davey


Max Rael


Mirai Kawashima (guest)

keyboards (ex-Necrophagia, ex-Post Mortem, Sigh)

Urakbarameel (Sunil Jolly)



The Excommunication Of Christ  
2001 Supernal
  1. The Excommunication of Christ
  2. Angelwhore
  3. The Watchers of Catal Huyuk
  4. Agrat Bat Malah
  5. Weeping Tears of Angel Light
  6. Bene Ha Elohim
  7. Assault and Battery
  8. Jezebel and the Philistines
  9. Pale Dread Hunger
  10. Rise in Godless Hell
  11. The Disembodied voices of Melchizedek
  12. Falling with lighting rays beamed towards the blazing firmament towards the untended burial grounds of Kharsag
  13. Calling all Monsters (Bonus Track)
  • Metatron
  • Jaldaboath
  • Zephon
  • Urakbarameel

Jihad (split w/ Mayhem)  
2002 Supernal
  1. Intro
  2. Jihad: The Grisly Din Of Killing Steel
  3. Paradise
  4. Another God In Another Place
  5. Tanks In The Holy Land
  6. Assassins Of Allah
  7. [Mayh] - Freezing Moon
  8. [Mayh] - Carnage
  • Metatron
  • Jaldaboath
  • Zephon
  • Urakbarameel

Exhuming The Grave Of Yeshuah  
2003 Supernal
  1. Intro - Exhuming the Grave of Yeshua
  2. God is Rome
  3. Blood Blasted Holy War
  4. 80 Grains of Sand
  5. Guts for Sale
  6. Utopia
  7. Sons of Anak Rise
  8. A Healer made God
  9. Sluts of the Netherworld
  10. On Graven Images I glide beyond the Monstrous Gates of pandemonium to face the Baptized warriors of Yahweh in the skull littered Plain of Esdraelon
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Deorth
  • Max Rael
  • Urakbarameel

The Mill Hill Sessions  
2004 Godreah
  1. Guts for Sale
  2. Grisly Din of Killing Steel
  3. 80 Grains of Sand
  4. The Watchers of Catal Huyuk
  5. A Healer Made God
  6. Refuse/ Resist
  7. My Beautiful Genocide.
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Lee Cornell
  • Huw Lloyd Langton
  • Alan Davey
  • Urakbarameel

Damascus Steel  
2005 Supernal
  1. Psalm 666
  2. Creed of Abraham
  3. Hollow Womb of Suicide
  4. Sword of the East
  5. Satanic Black Nubian Pharaohs
  6. Wonderful World
  7. The Gods Who Mock Us
  8. Behold The Kindred Battle Carcasses Strewn Across The Bloodied Dunes Of gilgamesh Mute In The Frenzied Clamour Of Deaths Rolling Tongue And Ravenous Bursting Steel
  9. Beyond Death and Darkness
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Alan Davey
  • Urakbarameel

In The Name Of God, Welcome To Planet Genocide  
2006 Firestorm
  1. Psalm 364
  2. My Beautiful Genocide
  3. A Baptism in the Warm Piss of Slaughtered Children
  4. The Man who Killed for God
  5. March Towards Annihilation
  6. Hell on earth / Blood runs red
  7. Aborted Stygian Foetus
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Huw Lloyd Langton
  • Alan Davey
  • Mirai Kawashima
  • Urakbarameel

Life Is Shit  EP
2007 Firestorm
  1. Straw Dogs
  2. Babylon's Burning
  3. Tank

The Early Years  COMPILATION
2009 Godreah
  1. Angel Whore (1998)
  2. Book of Dreams (1998)
  3. The Gleaming Red Serpent (1999)
  4. Just another time to Kill (1999)
  5. Pale Dread Hunger (1999)
  6. Rise in Godless Hell (1999)
  7. Give me Fire [GBH] (1999)
  8. Neurodeliri [BULLDOZER] (2000)
  9. Bound Alive (2000)
  10. Bleed for Me (2000)
  11. Calling All Monsters (2000)
  12. Paradise (2001)
  13. Another God in another Place (2001)
  14. Ogs Last Stand (2002)

The Murder Of Jesus The Jew  
2010 Candlelight
  1. Boiled In Hell Broth And Grave Dust (Intro)
  2. My Psychotic Sand Deity
  3. Apocalypse Of Lazarus
  4. Addicted To God
  5. Stiller Of Tempests
  6. Man From Kerioth
  7. Dark Gethsemane
  8. Jew Killer
  9. Genesis Of Death
  10. From Eagle To Cross
  11. Apostle Of The Uncircumcised
  12. A canticle for the lost amputees of Aelia Capitolina
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Huw Lloyd Langton
  • Alan Davey
  • Mirai Kawashima
  • Urakbarameel

2013 Candlelight
  1. Sonderkommando
  2. Wishing Well of Bones
  3. Aktion T4
  4. Silent Ghosts of Babi Yar
  5. Children of the Sunwheel Banner (Part 1)
  6. Children of the Sunwheel Banner (Part 2)
  7. Lamenting Weaver of Horror
  8. Sins of the Pharaohs
  9. Last Train to Eden
  10. Hourglass of Ash
  11. The Mussulmans Wander Through the Infernal Whirling Fires...
  12. Send My Love to Maher-Shalal-Hash-Baz
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Alan Davey
  • Andre Kjelbergvik Thung

The Middle Ages  COMPILATION
2014 SixSixSix
  1. God Is Rome
  2. 80 Grains of Sand
  3. Guts for Sale
  4. Creed of Abraham
  5. Hollow Womb of Suicide
  6. Satanic Black Nubian Pharoahs
  7. My Beautiful Genocide
  8. A Baptism in the Warm Piss of Slaughtered Children
  9. The Man Who Killed for God
  10. On the Surface
  11. All Things Bright and Shit
  12. The Song of a Hundred Roars

The Voiceless Dust Of Ages  
2018 independent
  1. A Forgotten Key to a Conundrum of Hate
  2. Gods at War
  3. The Angel with One Eye
  4. Hark the Potter's Field
  5. Crockett's Theme (Jan Hammer cover)
  6. The Voiceless Dust of Ages
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Andre Kjelbergvik Thung

Running Out Of Time Doing Nothing  
2019 Godreah
  1. Bug Splat
  2. I am Oblivion, Deep Drenched In Forever
  3. I'm Running Out of Time Doing Nothing
  4. Black is Black & White is White
  5. Cockroach Marionettes
  6. I Stood Tiptoe, Reaching Up for Heaven
  7. Like Blood Shaped Flakes of Snow
  8. The Broken Wings of a Hud-Hud
  9. Funeral Drums of Insomnia's Labyrinth
  10. Recollections of a Hand Loom-Weaver
  11. Souvenir of Death
  • Metatron
  • James Tait
  • Andre Kjelbergvik Thung

Tomb Songs From A Dying Bedlamite  EP
2024 Godreah
  1. In The Beginning... (Intro)
  2. I Have Cancer but at Least I will Die in a Whores Bed
  3. Infested by Fleas
  4. Time Kills
  5. Tomorrow Was Never Here
  6. Jew Killer (Quasi-Live)
  7. Creed of Abraham (Quasi-Live)

Copyright © 1995-2024 BNR Productions