Origin: Norway  
Genres: Gothic Metal
Facebook Official Site Twitter
Page online: December 15, 2010
Last update/review: December 15, 2010


Mortemia is the new project of one Morten Veland. Many will be familiar with Veland's work fronting Sirenia, and before that he was a main player in Tristania, so he's well versed in the art of symphonic gothic metal. Since Sirenia is little more than a Veland solo project and is also rooted in gothic metal, one wonders exactly what makes Mortemia unique. According to the press, Mortemia's (or, rather, Veland's) goal is to meld extreme metal and classical music, an ambitious venture to be sure. To these ears, though, the end result on Misere Mortem is more traditional gothic metal rather than some new adventurous metal/classical hybrid. Veland plays all the instruments, capably if not brilliantly, while the vocals mix his death growls with substantial choirs that actually bring his old band Tristania (circa the great Beyond The Veil of a decade ago), though unlike his previous bands there are no solo female vocals. As gothic metal goes, this is fine, but not really top-tier, so it may take some more work for Veland to realize his vision of a new musical concept.

Current Members

Morten Veland

all instruments/vocals (Sirenia, ex-Tristania)


Misere Mortem  
2010 Napalm
  1. The One I Once Was
  2. The Pain Infernal and the Fall Eternal
  3. The Eye of the Storm
  4. The Malice of Life's Cruel Ways
  5. The Wheel of Fire
  6. The Chains That Weild My Mind
  7. The New Desire
  8. The Vile Bringer of Self-Destructive Thoughts
  9. The Candle at the Tunnel's End
  • Morten Veland

Copyright © 1995-2022 BNR Productions